MAY 24-27, 2021

42nd IEEE Symposium on
Security and Privacy

   Registration and Access

Shadow Program Committee

IEEE Security & Privacy will be organizing its fifth Shadow Program Committee in 2021. Shadow PCs allow students and post-docs interested in future PC service to read submitted papers and go through the reviewing process, ultimately arriving at a shadow conference program. Note that in past years this committee has been called the “Student Program Committee”. This opportunity allows future PC members to learn first-hand about the peer-review process and gain experience as a reviewer. The Shadow PC will consist of students and post-docs and will provide reviews on a subset of submissions to the conference (paper authors may choose to opt-out of shadow reviews).

The Shadow PC will function much like an independent version of the "Senior" PC, including holding an virtual PC meeting and choosing its own program of papers. Papers submitted for the December 2020 deadline will be considered for the Shadow PC. Shadow PC reviewers will have to abide by the same rules and restrictions applicable to regular PC members. This includes, but is not limited to rules against discussing the papers outside of the PC context, or using in any way results from reviewed papers before such papers have been published. Delegated reviews (i.e., external reviews) are not allowed for the Shadow PC. Making a submitted paper available to Shadow PC is optional; authors will have the opportunity to opt-in during the paper submission process. Shadow reviews for papers that are reviewed by the Shadow PC will be sent out after the actual review process for the December deadline has finished (end of January 2021).

The Shadow PC meeting will be held online on February 02 2021 (9am-noon ET).

The Shadow PC will be chaired by Reza Shokri at National University of Singapore and Yuan Tian of University of Virginia.

If you are interested in participating, please apply by filling out the Google Form here by November 26, 2020 (see below for instructions).

Frequently Asked Questions

Q. Why hold a Shadow PC?

A. The Shadow PC is intended primarily to be an educational experience. The Shadow PC will write reviews of the real submissions to IEEE S&P in real time and will have an virtual Shadow PC meeting that closely simulates the full PC meeting. The Shadow PC members will debate papers and select a full program of papers. In addition, there will be two activities to help Shadow PC members better understand the conference paper selection process. Before reviews are assigned, there will be a teleconference discussing the components of good and bad reviews. Following the Shadow PC meeting, there will be a meta-discussion about the process. This discussion will focus on how to effectively review papers and the dynamics of choosing a conference program. After the Shadow PC, the Shadow PC reviews will be sent to the authors of the papers (marked as Shadow PC reviews).

Q. Who can participate in the Shadow PC?

A. The Shadow PC is open to PhD students and post-docs working in security and privacy who have not yet served on a "major" program committee (e.g. IEEE Security and Privacy, USENIX Security, CCS, NDSS, CRYPTO). If more applications are received than there is room, students will be given priority based on seniority in their programs and chosen to ensure diversity of backgrounds, institutions, and research interests.

Q. What is required of Shadow PC members?

A. Because the Shadow PC reviews will be available to the senior PC and paper authors, requirements are similar:

Q. Why should I participate?

A. While being a member of a Shadow PC is a significant amount of work, we expect it will be rewarding for a number of reasons, including:

Q. How can I apply?

A. If you are interested in participating, please apply by filling out the Google Form here by November 26, 2020. The following information is asked for:

Important Dates

All deadlines are 23:59:59 AOE

Student Program Committee

Chair Reza Shokri, National University of Singapore, Yuan Tian, University of Virginia.

Distinguished reviewers

We identified a few reviewers who did much better than others, and would like to highlight them on the website, to reward their work and encourage others for next years.

McKenna McCall Carnegie Mellon University
Feargus Pendlebury King's College London & Royal Holloway, University of London
Gururaj Saileshwar Georgia Tech
Riccardo Paccagnella University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Daniele Cono D'Elia Sapienza University of Rome
Muoi Tran National University of Singapore
Sunil Manandhar William & Mary


Praneeth Vepakomma MIT
Max Aliapoulios NYU
Tolga Arul University of Passau
Diogo Barradas INESC-ID, Instituto Superior Técnico, Universidade de Lisboa
Johes Bater Duke
Sebastian Berndt Universität zu Lübeck
William Blair Boston University
Zitai Chen National University of Singapore
Sanchuan Chen The Ohio State University
Yueqi Chen Pennsylvania State University
Jianfeng Chi University of Virginia
Hongjun Choi Purdue University
Bart Coppens Ghent University
Daniele Cono D'Elia Sapienza University of Rome
Markus Dahlmanns RWTH Aachen University
Dipanjan Das University of California, Santa Barbara
Pubali Datta University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Sukanta Dey Indian Institute of Technology Guwahati
Nir Drucker University of Haifa and Amazon
Oguzhan Ersoy Delft University of Technology
Varun Gandhi Harvard University
Zahra Ghodsi NYU
Spyridoula Gravani University of Rochester
Wenbo Guo Penn State
Sohaib Ul Hassan Tampere University
Nguyen Phong Hoang Stony Brook University
Wei Huang University of Toronto
Charlie Jacomme CISPA Helmholtz Center for Information Security
Jinyuan Jia Duke University
Soroush Karami University of Illinois at Chicago
Aqsa Kashaf Carnegie Mellon University
Sukwha Kyung Arizona State University
Huiying Li University of Chicago
Wenting Li Peking University
Shen Liu Penn State
Meng Luo Stony Brook University
Mohammad Malekzadeh Imperial College London
Sunil Manandhar William & Mary
M. Hammad Mazhar University of Iowa
McKenna McCall Carnegie Mellon University
Yan Meng Shanghai Jiao Tong University
Fatemehsadat Mireshghallah UC San Diego
Fan Mo Imperial College London
Mohammad Naseri UCL
Jianting Ning Singapore Management University
Yannic Noller National University of Singapore
Riccardo Paccagnella University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Tapti Palit Stony Brook University
Ivan Pashchenko University ofTrento
Feargus Pendlebury King's College London & Royal Holloway, University of London
Hernán Ponce de León Bundeswehr University Munich
Fortunat Rajaona University of Surrey
Richard Roberts University of Maryland
Kuheli Sai University of Pittsburgh
Gururaj Saileshwar Georgia Tech
Diego Sempreboni UCL
Giorgio Severi Northeastern University
Ali Shahin Shamsabadi Inria, QMUL
Shawn Shan University of Chicago
Pradyumna Shome University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Kris Shrishak TU Darmstadt
Jiachen Sun University of Michigan
Guanhong Tao Purdue University
Abhishek Tiwari National University of Singapore
Muoi Tran National University of Singapore
Tobias Urban Institute for Internet Security
Xiaoguang Wang Virginia Tech
Ke Wang George Washington University
Daniel Woods University of Innsbruck
Tong Wu Washington University in St. Louis
Limin Yang University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Mengmei Ye Rutgers University
Penghui Zhang Arizona State University
Yongjun Zhao Nanyang Technological University
Benjamin Zhao University of New South Wales and Data61 CSIRO
Liyi Zhou Imperial College London
zahra tarkhani university of Cambridge