MAY 24-27, 2021

42nd IEEE Symposium on
Security and Privacy

   Registration and Access


Sponsored by   Intel  and  IBM

Best Paper Award

Compositional Security for Reentrant Applications
Ethan Cecchetti (Cornell University), Siqiu Yao (Cornell University), Haobin Ni (Cornell University), Andrew C. Myers (Cornell University)

Hardware-Software Contracts for Secure Speculation
Marco Guarnieri (IMDEA Software Institute), Boris Köpf (Microsoft Research), Jan Reineke (Saarland University), and Pepe Vila (IMDEA Software Institute)

Best Student Paper Award

CrawlPhish: Large-scale Analysis of Client-side Cloaking Techniques in Phishing
Penghui Zhang (ASU), Adam Oest (ASU), Haehyun Cho (ASU), Zhibo Sun (ASU), RC Johnson (PayPal), Brad Wardman (PayPal), Shaown Sarker (NCSU), Alexandros Kapravelos (NCSU), Tiffany Bao (ASU), Ruoyu Wang (ASU), Yan Shoshitaishvili (ASU), Adam Doupé (ASU), and Gail-Joon Ahn (ASU and Samsung Research)

They Would do Better if They Worked Together: The Case of Interaction Problems Between Password Managers and Websites
Nicolas Huaman (Leibniz University Hannover), Sabrina Amft (Leibniz University Hannover), Marten Oltrogge (CISPA Helmholtz Center for Information Security), Yasemin Acar (Leibniz University Hannover and MPI-SP), and Sascha Fahl (Leibniz University Hannover)

Best Practical Paper Award

The EMV Standard: Break, Fix, Verify
David Basin, Ralf Sasse, and Jorge Toro-Pozo
ETH Zurich

Test of Time Award (2009-2011)

Password Cracking Using Probabilistic Context-Free Grammars
Matt Weir, Sudhir Aggarwal, Breno de Medeiros, Bill Glodek

Native Client: A Sandbox for Portable, Untrusted x86 Native Code
Bennet Yee , David Sehr, Gregory Dardyk, and J. Bradley Chen, Robert Muth, Tavis Ormandy, Shiki Okasaka, Neha Narula, Nicholas Fullagar

Quantifying Location Privacy
Reza Shokri, George Theodorakopoulos, Jean-Yves Le Boudec, and Jean-Pierre Hubaux

2021 IEEE Innovation in Societal Infrastructure Award

Elisa Bertino

Purdue University

Trojan Video Awards

Best Screenplay Award (Most Informative Video)

Hear "No Evil", See "Kenansville": Efficient and Transferable Black-Box Attacks on Speech Recognition and Voice Identification Systems
Hadi Abdullah (University of Florida), Muhammad Sajidur Rahman (University of Florida), Washington Garcia (University of Florida), Kevin Warren (University of Florida), Anurag Swarnim Yadav (University of Florida), Tom Shrimpton (University of Florida), Patrick Traynor (University of Florida)

Best Film Editing Award (Most Creative Video)

Good Bot, Bad Bot: Characterizing Automated Browsing Activity
Xigao Li (Stony Brook University), Babak Amin Azad (Stony Brook University), Amir Rahmati (Stony Brook University), Nick Nikiforakis (Stony Brook University)

Best Video Award

Reading Between the Lines: An Extensive Evaluation of the Security and Privacy Implications of EPUB Reading Systems
Gertjan Franken (imec-DistriNet, KU Leuven), Tom Van Goethem (imec-DistriNet, KU Leuven), Wouter Joosen (imec-DistriNet, KU Leuven)