MAY 23-27, 2021

42nd IEEE Symposium on
Security and Privacy

Since 1980, the IEEE Symposium on Security and Privacy has been the premier forum for presenting developments in computer security and electronic privacy, and for bringing together researchers and practitioners in the field. The 2021 Symposium will mark the 42nd annual meeting of this flagship conference.

Latest News

Registration will reopen next week

42nd IEEE Symposium on Security and Privacy – Now Taking Place Virtually

The safety and well-being of all conference participants is our priority. After evaluating the ongoing COVID-19 situation, the decision has been made to transform the in-person component of the IEEE SP 2021 conference into an all-digital conference experience –IEEE SP 2021 will now be an online event. Therefore, IEEE SP 2021 will no longer take place in San Francisco, CA and will instead take place virtually. The conference dates remain the same – May 23-27, 2021. Proceedings will not be cancelled, and publications will continue as planned.

Statement on the US Government Travel Restrictions

The IEEE Computer Society's Technical Committee on Security and Privacy fully supports the position of the IEEE and its Computer Society on the US Government's Travel Restrictions, as expressed in their public statements (1, 2). In addition, we acknowledge our commitment to the special responsibility of the security and privacy research community to advance knowledge and technologies to enable protection of universal human rights such as freedom of opinion and expression.

S&P on Twitter

Organizing Committee

General Chair Alvaro Cardenas University of California, Santa Cruz
Program Chairs Alina Oprea Northeastern University
Thorsten Holz Ruhr-Universität Bochum
Vice Chair / Registration Rakesh Bobba Oregon State University
Treasurer Daniel Takabi Georgia State University
Donations Chair Briland Hitaj SRI International
Publications Chairs Thomas Moyer University of North Carolina Charlotte
Site Chair Brittany Joseph ExecutiveEvents, Inc.
Regan Robertson ExecutiveEvents, Inc.
Registration Manager Gigi Andrew ExecutiveEvents, Inc.
Publicity Chair Scott Ruoti University of Tennessee
Student Travel Committee Chair Yao Liu University of South Florida
Workshops Chair Alisa Frik ICSI / UC Berkeley
Posters Chair Nathalie Baracaldo IBM Almaden Research Center
Short Talks Chair Arkady Yerukhimovich George Washington University
Awards Chair Tegan Brennan Stevens Institute of Technology
Web Chair Luis Salazar University of California, Santa Cruz
Video Chair Rui Zhang UNC Chapel Hill
Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Chair Z. Morley Mao University of Michigan
General Chair Emeritus Gabriela Ciocarlie SRI International

Platinum Supporters

Silver Supporters

Bronze Supporters