MAY 18-20, 2020

41st IEEE Symposium on
Security and Privacy

   Access details

Call for Posters

UPDATE: Now that S&P 2020 will be a virtual conference, we wanted to update you on how posters will be handled. For accepted poster, the author(s) will pre-record a short video (probably around 2 minutes; details to be finalized) explaining the poster and its content. These videos will be archived. During the one-hour virtual poster session, each poster will be assigned a separate video breakout room. The author(s) will use that room to interact with poster “visitors,” who stop by to hear about the work and view the poster via screenshare or attachment. Attendees will be able to move between breakout rooms as needed to visit with multiple posters. At least one author of each accepted poster should plan to remain in the breakout room for the entire one-hour virtual session. That means that, for example, if one research group submits two posters, then at least two people must be available to host the breakouts, one per poster. All information below not related to physical attendance remains correct.

Presenting a poster at IEEE S&P is a great chance for researchers to obtain valuable feedback on their ongoing work from knowledgeable participants at the conference. Posters are solicited that present unpublished in-progress or late-breaking research on security- and privacy-related topics. Additionally, posters presenting interdisciplinary work that is relevant to security and privacy research but was published outside the security community are welcome.

Poster abstracts are due Monday, April 6, 2020. At least one author of each accepted poster will be required to attend the conference to present the poster, and each author should present at most one poster. There will be no exceptions to this policy. Accepted poster abstracts will be posted on the conference website but not included in the conference proceedings.

Important Dates

Poster abstract due:Monday April 6, 2020 23:59:59 Pacific Standard Time (EXTENDED)
Acceptance notification:Thursday Apr 23, 2020 (EXTENDED)
Early bird conference registration deadline:TBD

Submission Details

Submit an abstract no longer than two pages describing the work, together with a draft of the poster itself.

The abstract title should begin with the keyword "Poster:". Include all authors with contact information and institutional affiliation in your abstract. Abstracts should briefly describe the particular problem being addressed, and detail your approach to the problem. Providing preliminary results is suggested but not required. If the work was previously published outside the security community, please include a reference to the existing publication.

Please use the 2 column IEEE conference proceedings style for preparing your abstract. All submissions should be in PDF format. Your abstract should not exceed the two page limit; non-conforming submissions will not be considered for review.

All submissions must also include a draft of the poster to receive feedback before the conference. Presented posters can be sized up to 24 x 36 inches (or A1), either portrait or landscape, but should be scaled down to letter or A4 for submission as a PDF.

All materials should be submitted to

If accepted, at least one author must be registered and a final version of the poster abstract submitted by Friday, May 8, 2020. The abstract will be placed on the conference website prior to the poster session, but will not be included in the conference proceedings.

For more information, please contact the posters chair at

Poster Jury

Posters will be reviewed by a poster jury with members drawn from the Shadow PC.


Michelle MazurekUniversity of Maryland


Babak Amin Azad Stony Brook University
Rudra Prasad Baksi PhD Candidate, University at Buffalo, SUNY
Abhishek Bichhawat Carnegie Mellon University
Matthew Bradbury University of Warwick
Dhiman Chakraborty CISPA Helmholtz Center for Information Security, Saarland University
Akram El-Korashy MPI-SWS
Hanan Hindy Abertay University, UK
Sebastian Köhler University of Oxford
Katharina Kohls Ruhr University Bochum
Peixuan Li Penn State University
Benjamin Lipp INRIA Paris
Grace Liu Carnegie Mellon University
Zhengxiong Li SUNY Buffalo
Roland Meier ETH Zürich
Hoda Naghibijouybari University of California, Riverside
Santosh Kumar Nukavarapu Virginia Commonwealth University
Won Park University of Michigan
Jan Pennekamp RWTH Aachen University
Richard Roberts University of Maryland
Lea Schönherr Ruhr University Bochum
Abhishek Shah Columbia University
Muoi Tran National University of Singapore
Nikos Vasilakis Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Wen Wang Yale University