IEEE Symposium on Security and Privacy

sponsored by
IEEE Computer Society Technical Committee on Security and Privacy
in cooperation with
The International Association for Cryptologic Research (IACR)

Best Paper Awards

The Symposium has given awards for the highest overall quality papers from the accepted program, as measured by scientific contribution, depth, and impact. A student must be the first author to be eligible for the best student paper. The IEEE Security & Privacy award paper will be invited to appear in the IEEE Security and Privacy Magazine. Following is a list of these awards, with links to the papers.


Outstanding Paper Award

Pacemakers and Implantable Cardiac Defibrillators: Software Radio Attacks and Zero-Power Defenses
Daniel Halperin, University of Washington; Thomas S. Heydt-Benjamin, Benjamin Ransford, Shane S. Clark, Benessa Defend, Will Morgan and Kevin Fu, University of Massachusetts Amherst; Tadayoshi Kohno, University of Washington; William H. Maisel, BIDMC and Harvard Medical School

Best Student Paper Award

Cloaker: Hardware Supported Rootkit Concealment
Francis David, Ellick Chan, Jeffrey Carlyle, and Roy Campbell, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

IEEE Security and Privacy Paper Award

Thinking Inside the Box: System-level Failures of Tamper Proofing
Saar Drimer, Steven Murdoch, and Ross Anderson, University of Cambridge