IEEE Computer Society's Technical Committee on Security and Privacy (TCSP)



2019 TCSP Business Meeting

May 21, 2019

Hyatt Regency, San Francisco, CA





Agenda

- TCSP Status Report
- Symposium Updates for 2019
- Symposium Updates for 2020
- Service Awards
- TCSP 2020-2021 Vice Chair Election





IEEE TCSP

- Currently serving TCSP officers
 - 2018-2019 Chair:

Sean Peisert, Berkeley Lab & UC Davis

2018-2019 Vice Chair and 2020-2021 Chair-elect:
 Úlfar Erlingsson, Google

- TCSP Treasurer:

Yong Guan, Iowa State University





IEEE TCSP

Additional TCSP Volunteers

Cipher Newsletter Editor
Hilarie Orman, Purple Streak, Inc.

TCSP Webmasters / Postmasters:

Bogdan Copos, Google

Ulf Lindqvist, SRI International

TCSP Awards Chair

EJ Jung, University of San Francisco





TCSP Status Report

- TCSP: 2,373 members
 - Anyone can join:
 - http://computer.org/jointcsp
- Financial Co-Sponsorship:
 - S&P
 - CSF
 - Euro S&P (since 2016)
 - SecDev (since 2018)
 - HOST (50%)
 - PAC (2017-2018)





TCSP Status Report contd. Reports will be available at: http://www.ieee-security.org/TC/Reports.html

Event	<u>Dates</u>	Location	<u>Attendees</u>	<u>Submissions</u>	<u>Accepted</u>
S&P 2019	May 20-22, 2019	San Francisco, CA, USA	683	679	84
SPW 2019	May 23, 2019	San Francisco, CA, USA	258	11 workshops	5 workshops
Euro S&P 2019	June 17-19, 2019	Stockholm, Sweden	_	42	210
CSF 2018	July 9-12, 2018	Oxford, UK	108 (> than previous years - CSF was part of FLOC)	72	25
CSF 2019	June 25-28, 2019	Hoboken, NJ, USA	_	89	30
SecDev 2018	Sept. 30-Oct. 2, 2018	Cambridge, MA, USA	143	29 papers 11 tutorials	13 papers 7 tutorials
SecDev 2019	Sept. 25 - 27, 2019	McLean, VA, USA	_	33 papers 6 tutorials	
HOST 2018	April 30 - May 4, 2018	Washington, DC, USA	318	81	17 papers 22 posters
HOST 2019	May 6 - 10, 2019	McLean, VA, USA	280+	89	25
PAC 2018 _{EE}	Sept. 26 - 28, 2018	Washington, DC, USA	~50		42EE
society		O		Adv	for Humanity

TCSP Status Report

- New Awards Chair, EJ Jung (USF)
 - Established and documented process for all TCSP awards
 - All TCSP Conferences
 - including S&P and S&P test of time awards
 - TCSP Outstanding Community Service Awards
- Supported S&P / SecDev Code of Conduct
- Representing the TCSP community to IEEE and IEEE CS
 - Ensured continued support of Open Access model
 - Ensured continued function of continuous submission and review model





TCSP Status Report contd.

Reports will be available at: http://www.ieee-security.org/TC/Reports.html

Financials

- \$66k budget approved
- All but about \$900 is donated back to the conferences
 - Financial support of IEEE S&P 40th Anniversary (\$30k)
 - Financial support of TC and S&P Test of Time Awards (\$11k)
 - Engaging Students
 - Financial support of student travel (\$13k)
 - Financial support of S&P student PC
 - Financial support of S&P speed mentoring (\$8k)





Established IEEE S&P "Test of Time Awards"

- Established IEEE S&P "Test of Time Awards"
 - Committee established rules

Stefan Savage, Chair

Úlfar Erlingsson

Bryan Parno

Mike Reiter

- Initiated first two regular rounds (2007-2009, 2008-2010)
 - 2007–2009 Committee:

Stefan Savage, Chair

David Evans

Ari Juels

Patrick McDaniel

Rebecca Wright

- Initiated "catch up rounds" for 1980-1994 and 1995-2006
 - 1980-1994 Committee:

Cathy Meadows, Co-Chair

Steven B. Lipner, Co-Chair

Terry Benzel

Carl E. Landwehr

Teresa Lunt

John McHugh

Peter G. Neumann

• 1995-2006 Committee:

Chair TBA





S&P 2019 is Two-Track

Last year, we voted on several formats to address presenting an increasing number of accepted papers.

"Multi-track" received the most support, but the vote didn't have the benefit of information about cost and logistics.

We planned to present cost and logistics this year and have a "final vote," but the number of papers accepted by the PC precluded the luxury of deferring the decision until the 2019 Business Meeting.

The 2019 General Chair Gondree and 2019 Program Chair Kruegel presented a plan, which TC Chair Peisert and TC Vice Chair Erlingsson endorsed, to go two-track for S&P 2019.

Going two-track cost ~\$30k more, leading to other necessary adjustments in the event to control costs.

Formal feedback on processes for handling increased paper submissions will be solicited in the post-symposium survey with further discussion at the 2020 TCSP Business Meeting.





Symposium Updates for 2020

- S&P 2020 General Chair: Gabriela Ciocarlie, SRI International
- S&P 2020 Vice Chair: Alvaro Cardenas, UC Santa Cruz
- S&P 2020 Program Chairs: Hovav Shacham, UT Austin Alina Oprea, Northeastern University





Awards





TCSP Recognition for Outstanding Community Service

- Mark Gondree
 SP 2019 GC and SP 2018 vice chair
- Christopher Kruegel
 SP 2019 Sr PC Chair and SP 2018 Jr PC Chair





TCSP Recognition for Outstanding Community Service

- Catherine Meadows
 Chair, IEEE Symposium on Security and Privacy Test of Time Awards
 Committee for 1980-1994
- Stefan Savage
 Inaugural IEEE Symposium on Security and Privacy Test of Time

 Awards Committee Chair





TCSP Recognition for Outstanding Community Service

Hilarie Orman
 IEEE TCSP Outstanding Service Award for Many Years of Service as TC
 Awards Chair





TCSP 2020-2021 Vice Chair Election

Bryan Parno (CMU) has agreed to be nominated as TCSP Vice Chair for 2020-2021





Refining the Oakland submission model



