4th Program Protection and Reverse Engineering Workshop 

Hyatt French Quarter 
New Orleans, LA 
December 09, 2014 
Website: http://www.pprew.org 

Co-Located with: 
Annual Computer Security Applications Conference (ACSAC) 2014 
Website: https://www.acsac.org/ 

Important Dates: 

Paper Submission: October 10, 2014 
Author Notification: November 10, 2014 
Camera Ready: November 28, 2014 
Workshop: December 09, 2014 

Workshop Aims: 

Program protection and reverse engineering are dualisms of good and evil. 

Beneficial uses of reverse engineering abound: malicious software
needs to be analyzed and understood in order to prevent their spread
and to assess their functional footprint; owners of intellectual
property (IP) at times need to recover lost or unmaintained
designs. Conversely, malicious reverse engineering allows illegal
copying and subversion; designers can employ obfuscation and
tamper-proofing on IP to target various attack vectors. In this sense,
protecting IP and protecting malware from detection and analysis is a
double-edged sword: depending on the context, the same techniques are
either beneficial or harmful. Likewise, tools that deobfuscate malware
in good contexts become analysis methods that support reverse
engineering for illegal activity.

PPREW invites papers on practical and theoretical approaches for
program protection and reverse engineering used in beneficial
contexts, focusing on analysis/ deobfuscation of malicious code and
methods/tools that hinder reverse engineering. Ongoing work with
preliminary results, theoretical approaches, tool-based methods, and
empirical studies on various methods are all appropriate. Studies on
hardware/circuit based methods or software/assembly based mechanisms
are within scope of the workshop. We expect the workshop to provide
exchange of ideas and support for cooperative relationships among
researchers in industry, academia, and government.

Topics of interest include, but are not limited, to the following: 

- Obfuscation / Deobfuscation (polymorphism) 
- Tamper-proofing / Hardware-based protection 
- Theoretic proofs for exploitation or protection 
- Software watermarking / Digital fingerprinting 
- Reverse engineering tools and techniques 
- Side channel analysis and vulnerability mitigation 
- Program / circuit slicing 
- Information hiding and discovery 
- Virtualization for protection and/or analysis 
- Forensic and anti-forensic protection 
- Moving target and active cyber defense 
- Theoretic analysis frameworks: 

o Abstract Interpretation 

o Homomorphic Encryption 

o Term Rewriting Systems 

o Machine Learning 

o Large Scale Boolean Matching 

- Component / Functional Identification 
- Program understanding 
- Source code (static/dynamic) analysis techniques 


Submission Guidelines: 


Original, unpublished manuscripts of up to 12-pages including figures
and references must follow the ACM SIG proceedings format. SIGPLAN
conference paper templates are available for LaTeX and Word at:

 <http://www.acm.org/sigs/publications/proceedings-templates> http://www.acm.org/sigs/publications/proceedings-templates. 

Submissions must be in PDF. 


Submitted papers must adhere to the SIGPLAN Re-publication Policy and
the ACM Policy on Plagiarism. Concurrent submissions to other
conferences, workshops, journals, or similar forums of publication are
not allowed.  Submissions that do not meet these guidelines may not be

The URL for submission is through Easy Chair: 




Arrangements for publication of accepted and presented papers at PPREW are 
currently underway. 

Program Chairs: 

Mila Dalla Preda, University of Verona, Italy 
J. Todd McDonald, University of South Alabama, USA 

Proceedings Chair: 

Natalia Stakhanova, University of New Brunswick, Canada 

Program Committee: 

Saumya Debray, University of Arizona, USA 
Stephen Magill, Galois, USA 
Frederico Maggi, Politecnico di Milano, Italy
Andy King, University of Kent, UK 
Natalia Stakhanova, University of New Brunswick, Canada 
Guillaume Bonfante, Loria, France 
Todd Andel, University of South Alabama, USA 
Yuan Xiang Gu, IRDETO, Canada 
Clark Thomborson, University of Auckland, New Zealand
Johannes Kinder, Royal Holloway, University of London, UK 
Michael Grimaila, Air Force Institute of Technology, USA 
William Mahoney, University of Nebraska Omaha, USA 
Mathias Payer, Purdue University, USA 
Bjorn De Sutter, Unviversity of Ghent, Belgium 
Mihai Christodorescu, Qualcomm Reseach-IBM Research, USA 
Sergio Maffeis, Imperial College London, UK 
Jean-Yves Marion, INPL, France 

Steering Committee: 

Arun Lakhotia, University of Louisiana-Lafayette, USA 
Roberto Giocabazzi, University of Verona, Italy 
J. Todd McDonald, University of South Alabama, USA 
Mila Dalla Preda, University of Verona, Italy