C a l l     F o r     P a p e r s

13th European Symposium on Research in Computer Security (ESORICS'08)
October 6-8, 2008
Malaga, Spain


Papers offering novel research contributions in any aspect of 
computer security are solicited for submission to the Thirteenth 
European Symposium on Research in Computer Security (ESORICS 2008). 
Organized in a series of European countries, ESORICS is confirmed as 
the European research event in computer security. The symposium 
started in 1990 and has been held on alternate years in different 
European countries and attracts an international audience from both 
the academic and industrial communities. From 2002 it has been held 
yearly. The Symposium has established itself as one of the premiere, 
international gatherings on Information Assurance. Papers may present 
theory, technique, applications, or practical experience on topics including:

- Access control
- Anonymity
- Authentication
- Authorization and delegation
- Cryptographic protocols
- Data integrity
- Dependability
- Information flow control
- Smartcards
- System security
- Digital right management
- Accountability
- Applied cryptography
- Covert channels
- Cybercrime
- Denial of service attacks
- Formal methods in security
- Inference control
- Information warfare
- Steganography
- Transaction management
- Data and application security
- Intellectual property protection
- Intrusion tolerance
- Peer-to-peer security
- Language-based security
- Network security
- Non-interference
- Privacy-enhancing technology
- Pseudonymity
- Subliminal channels
- Trustworthy user devices
- Identity management
- Security as quality of service
- Secure electronic commerce
- Security administration
- Security evaluation
- Security management
- Security models
- Security requirements engineering
- Security verification
- Survivability
- Information dissemination control
- Trust models and trust management policies

The primary focus is on high-quality original unpublished research, 
case studies and implementation experiences. We encourage submissions 
of papers discussing industrial research and development. Proceedings 
will be published by Springer-Verlag in the Lecture Notes in Computer 
Science series.

* Instructions for paper submission

Submitted papers must not substantially overlap papers that have been 
published or that are simultaneously submitted to a journal or a 
conference with proceedings. Papers should be at most 15 pages 
excluding the bibliography and well-marked appendices (using 11-point 
font), and at most 20 pages total. Committee members are not required 
to read the appendices, and so the paper should be intelligible 
without them. Submission of paper must be done using the conference 
web site following the requirements stated there. They must be 
received by March 31, 2008 in order to be considered. Notification 
will be sent to authors by June 16, 2008.
Authors of accepted papers must be prepared to sign a copyright 
statement and must guarantee that their paper will be presented at 
the conference. Also, they must follow the Springer Information for 
Authors' guidelines for the preparation of the manuscript and use the 
templates provided there.

* Program Chairs

Sushil Jajodia, George Mason University, USA
Javier Lopez, University of Malaga, Spain

* Program Committee

Vijay Atluri, Rutgers University, USA
Michael Backes, Saarland University, Germany
David Basin, ETH Zurich, Switzerland
Gilles Barthe, INRIA, France
Marina Blanton, University of Notre Dame, USA
Jan Camenisch, IBM Research, Switzerland
David Chadwick, University of Kent, UK
Bruno Crispo, University of Trento, Italy
Frederic Cuppens, ENST Bretagne, France
Sabrina De Capitani di Vimercati, Univ. Milan, Italy
Dimitris Gritzalis, UAEB, Greece
Stefanos Gritzalis, Univ. Aegean, Greece
Dieter Gollmann, HUT, Germany
Juan A. Garay, Bell Labs, USA
Aggelos Kiayias, University of Connecticut, USA
Socrates Katsikas, Univ. Piraeus, Greece
Christopher Kruegel, TU Vienna, Austria
Michiharu Kudo, IBM Tokyo Research, Japan
Kwok-Yan Lam, Tsinghua University, China
Yingjiu Li, SMU, Singapore
Peng Liu, Penn State University, USA
Fabio Martinelli, CNR, Italy
Fabio Massacci, University of Trento, Italy
Vashek Matyas, University Brno, Czech  Republic
Chris Mitchell, Royal Holloway, UK
Refik Molva, Eurecom, France
Yi Mu, University of Wollongong, Australia
Peng Ning, North Carolina State University, USA
Eiji Okamoto, University of Tsukuba, Japan
Martin Olivier, University of Pretoria,South Africa
Stefano Paraboschi, University of Bergamo, Italy
Guenther Pernul, Univ. Regensburg, Germany
Bart Preneel, KUL, Belgium
Indrakshi Ray, Colorado State University, USA
Peter Ryan, University of Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Pierangela Samarati, University of Milan, Italy
Miguel Soriano, UPC, Spain
Vipin Swarup, MITRE Corporation, USA
Angelos Stavrou, George Mason University, USA
Michael Waidner, IBM Zurich Research,Switzerland
Lingyu Wang, Concordia University, Canada
Avishai Wool, Tel Aviv University, Israel
Jianying Zhou, I2R, Singapore
Sencun Zhu, Pennsylvania State University, USA

* Important dates

Paper Submission due: March 31, 2008
Acceptance notification: June 16, 2008
Final papers due: July 7, 2008