[29 April 1996] Prof. Basie von Solms, chair of IFIP TC 11, announced that the TC's Kristian Beckman award is being given to Prof. Sushil Jajodia of George Mason University this year. Prof. Jajodia has been an active contributor to IFIP WG 11.3 as well as to the IEEE Security and Privacy Symposium for many years. According to the announcement, "The Kristain Beckman award, in memory of Kristian Beckman, the first Chairman of TC 11, is awarded annually by TC 11 to a person who made a significant contribution to the field of Information Security. The Award has only been awarded twice in it history - in 1993 to Prof. Harold Highland of the USA, and in 1995 to Mr Per Hoving of Sweden. ... Dr Jajodia will accept the Award in May on Samos during IFIP/Sec 96."