Review of  the
Security and Privacy,
Berkeley/Oakland, CA
May 19-22, 2008

Reviews of Selected Talks by Matt Fredrikson
May 19, 2008

Editor's note: the reviewer was unable to review all the talks due to his schedule; our apologies to authors whose work was not covered in this report.

Monday, May 19, 2008
Opening Remarks

The conference began on Monday with a few remarks from the program chair. These remarks were given by Avi Rubin, as Patrick McDaniel was still in route to the conference. He started out speaking about the review process for the conference. Papers were assigned to members of the program committee by area, avoiding conflicts of interest. Each PC member received about twenty papers, and each paper was reviewed by three members of the committee. In general, to gain acceptance into the conference, a paper had to have at least one high-confidence review. Once all of the papers had been reviewed by the committee, lengthy deliberations ensued -- two weeks of email conversations and a lengthy meeting review to come to final decisions regarding the papers.

The end result of this process can be summarized with the following statistics. Out of 249 submissions, twenty-eight papers were accepted (11.2%). This is comparable to last year's program, in which twenty regular submissions were accepted out of 246 submissions (8.1%). However, there were no short papers accepted for this year's conference. Avi concluded by observing that this acceptance rate is beneficial for the speakers and authors, as tenure committees and managers look favorably on such numbers.


This year, three awards were given to select contributors. The best student paper, including a cash prize, was given to Francis David, Ellick Chan, Jeffrey Carlyle, and Roy Campbell for their paper "Cloaker: Hardware Supported Rootkit Concealment". The best paper award was given to Daniel Halperin and his colleagues from the University of Massachussetts - Amherst (Thomas S. Heydt-Benjamin, Benjamin Ransford, Shane S. Clark, Benessa Defend, Will Morgan, Kevin Fu) and Tadayoshi Kohno of the University of Washington , and William H. Maisel of Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center and Harvard Medical School, for their paper "Pacemakers and Implantible Cardiac Defibrillators: Software Radio Attacks and Zero-Power Defenses". Finally, the IEEE Security and Privacy award was given to Saar Drimer, Steven J. Murdoch, and Ross Anderson for their paper "Thinking Inside the Box: System-Level Failures of Tamper Proofing".

First Session: Peering
Chair: Patrick McDaniel Second Session: Communications Security
Third Session: Data
Session Chair: Fabian Monrose Fourth Session: Attacks
Session Chair: Niels Provos Tuesday, May 19, 2008
Fifth Session: Miscellaneous
Session Chair: Andrew Meyers Sixth Session: Defenses
Session Chair: Tadayoshi Kohno Seventh Session: Attacks II
Session Chair: Wenke Lee