2nd Call for Papers
    Workshop on Safety, Reliability, and Security
    of Industrial Computer Systems (WSRS '04)

    held together with Informatik 2004 Conference
    University of Ulm, Germany
    Papers due: 05 / 30 / 2004

** Important dates
05 / 30 / 2004   Paper submission deadline
06 / 15 / 2004   Notification of acceptance
06 / 30 / 2004   Camera-ready papers due
09 / 20 / 2004   Workshop

** Possible topics include, but are not limited to
Safety of Industrial Computer Systems
Security for Industrial Computer Systems
Distributed Control Systems
Hardware Design for Safety-critical Systems
Verification and Validation Procedures
Licensing and Industrial Standards

** Submission guidelines
The program committee invites the submission of papers in German and
English language. Paper should be formatted according to the LNI
guidelines (http://giserver.gi-ev.de/LNI/autorenrichtlinien/) and
should not exceed 5 pages. Please send your submission in PDF format
to info04@auto.tuwien.ac.at

Accepted papers will be published as part of the proceedings of the
Informatik 2004 conference, which will appear as part of the Lecture
Notes in Informatics published by the Gesellschaft fuer Informatik,
Germany's main association of computer scientists.

** Short description
The workshop brings together researchers and practitioners in the
field of safety and security, in particular in the area of industrial
computer systems. Industrial computer systems are often used to
control critical processes, and special requirements for their safety
and reliability exist. To meet these requirements, laws often require
a special assessment and licensing procedure. Recently, industrial
computer systems are getting increasingly interconnected and access is
granted over public, insecure networks. This causes novel security
threats that have to be addressed in an adequate manner.

** Program Committee

G.H. Schildt, TU Vienna (Chair)

D. Dietrich, TU Vienna
W. Ehrenberger, FH Fulda
U. Flegel, University of Dortmund
W. Kastner, TU Vienna
C. Kruegel, UC Santa Barbara
M. Meier, BTU Cottbus
T. Sauter, Austrian Academy of Sciences