The 14th Annual Workshop on the Economic of Information Security (WEIS 2015)
Delft University of Technology, The Netherlands, June 22-23, 2015

The Workshop on the Economics of Information Security (WEIS) is the leading
forum for interdisciplinary scholarship on information security and privacy,
combining expertise from the fields of economics, social science, business,
law, policy, and computer science. Prior workshops have explored the role of
incentives between attackers and defenders of information systems, identified
market failures surrounding Internet security, quantified risks of personal
data disclosure, and assessed investments in cyber-defense. WEIS 2015 will
build on past efforts using empirical and analytic tools not only to understand
threats, but also to strengthen security and privacy through novel evaluations
of available solutions.

We encourage economists, computer scientists, legal scholars, business school
researchers, security and privacy specialists, as well as industry experts to
submit their research and participate by attending the workshop. Suggested
topics include (but are not limited to) empirical and theoretical studies of:

-       Optimal investment in information security
-       Models and analysis of online crime
-       Risk management and cyber-insurance
-       Security standards and regulation
-       Cyber-security and privacy policy
-       Cyber-defense strategy and game theory
-       Security and privacy models and metrics
-       Economics of privacy and anonymity
-       Behavioral security and privacy
-       Vulnerability discovery, disclosure, and patching
-       Incentives for information sharing and cooperation
-       Incentives  regarding pervasive monitoring threats

Manuscripts should represent significant and novel research contributions.
WEIS has no formal formatting guidelines. Previous contributors spanned
fields from economics and psychology to computer science and law, each
with different norms and expectations about manuscript length and formatting.

Selected papers will be invited for publication in a special issue of the
Journal of Cybersecurity, a new, interdisciplinary, open access journal
published by Oxford University Press.

For further information please email or visit:



        Submission deadline            27 February  2015
        Acceptance notifications       10 April 2015
        Final papers                   15 May 2015
        Conference dates               22-23 June 2015



* Michel van Eeten     Delft University of Technology
* Hadi Asghari         Delft University of Technology
* Carlos GaƱán         Delft University of Technology


* Alessandro Acquisti  Carnegie Mellon University
* Tansu Alpcan         The University of Melbourne
* Ross Anderson        Cambridge University
* Terrence August      UC San Diego
* Johannes Bauer       Michigan State University
* Rainer Böhme         University of Münster
* Joseph Bonneau       Google
* Laura Brandimarte    Carnegie Mellon University
* Jean Camp            Indiana University
* Jonathan Cave        RAND Europe
* Huseyin Cavusoglu    University of Texas at Dallas
* Nicolas Christin     Carnegie Mellon University
* Ben Edelman          Harvard Business School
* Serge Egelman        UC Berkeley
* Stephanie Forrest    University of New Mexico
* Allan Friedman       Brookings Institution
* Neil Gandal          Tel Aviv University
* Dan Geer             In-Q-Tel
* Lawrence Gordon      University of Maryland
* Jens Grossklags      Penn State University
* Cormac Herley        Microsoft Research
* Andre Hoogstrate     Netherlands Forensics Institute
* Thorsten Holz        Ruhr-Universität Bochum
* Benjamin Johnson     UC Berkeley
* Eric Johnson         Vanderbilt University
* Aron Laszka          Vanderbilt University
* Marc Lelarge         INRIA-ENS
* Martin Loeb          University of Maryland
* Kanta Matsuura       The University of Tokyo
* Katerina Mitrokotsa  Chalmers University of Technology
* Tyler Moore          Southern Methodist University
* Milton Mueller       Syracuse University
* Andrew Odlyzko       University of Minnesota
* Wolter Pieters       TU Delft & University of Twente
* David Pym            University College London
* Christian Rossow     Saarland University
* Brent Rowe           RTI International
* Bruce Schneier       Co3 Systems
* Galina Schwartz      UC Berkeley
* Richard Sullivan     Federal Reserve Bank of Kansas City
* Rahul Telang         Carnegie Mellon University
* Catherine Tucker     MIT
* Nico van Eijk        University of Amsterdam
* Julian Williams      Durham University