3rd International Annual Workshop on
Digital Forensics and Incident Analysis: WDFIA 2008
A Workshop of ESORICS 2008
Thursday 9th October 2008
University of Malaga, Malaga, Spain

First Call for Paper Submission and Panel Ideas

Goals and topics of interest
The field of digital forensics is rapidly evolving and continues to
gain significance in both the law enforcement and the scientific
community.  Being intrinsically interdisciplinary, it draws upon a
wide range of subject areas such as information & communication
technologies, law, social sciences and business administration. We are
pleased to announce the 3rd annual workshop on digital forensics and
incident analysis graciously hosted by the University of Malaga,
alongside ESORICS 2008 (http://www.isac.uma.es/esorics08/). The
workshop aims to provide a forum for researchers and practitioners to
present original, unpublished research results and innovative
ideas. We welcome the submission of papers from the full spectrum of
issues relating to the theory and practice of digital forensics and
incident analysis. Areas of special interest include, but are not
limited to:

Digital forensics tools and applications
Incident response and investigation
Forensic standards and procedures
Portable electronic device forensics
Network forensics
Data hiding and recovery
Network traffic analysis, traceback and attribution
Data mining and e-discovery and their corporate use
Legal, ethical and policy issues related to digital forensics
Digital evidence visualisation and presentation 
Integrity of digital evidence and live investigations
Digital evidence chain of custody, storage and preservation
Multimedia analysis
Digital forensics case studies
The Trojan defence
Forensics issues of malicious code
Best practices and case studies

Important dates
Submission deadline: 30th April 2008
Notification to authors: 12th June 2008
Camera ready copies: 11th July 2008
Deadline for author registration: 11th July 2008

Submission details
Authors are invited to submit original papers not previously published
nor submitted in parallel for publication to any other conference,
workshop or journal, which should be written in good English and with
a very precise and concise presentation of no more than 12 pages in
IEEE double-column format
(http://www.ieee.org/portal/cms_docs/pubs/confpubcenter/pdfs/samplems.pdf). Authors
should upload their manuscripts (PDF or MS Word format) to the
submissions management system at

Ideas for an end-of-day panel (approx. one hour in duration) are also
solicited, along with nominations for panellists.

For inquiries please email wdfia08@aegean.gr. 

Keynote address by
Simson Garfinkel, Naval Postgraduate School, California, USA

Workshop proceedings
Accepted papers will be included in the WDFIA 2008 proceedings,
published by IEEE CS Press. The steering committee will nominate the
best paper of the workshop to be awarded with a publication
opportunity to a forthcoming volume of the Digital Evidence and
Electronic Signature Law Review

At least one author of each accepted paper is required to register for
the workshop by the deadline above and commit to presenting the paper,
in order for the paper to be included in the proceedings. Authors may
be associated with at most two papers. Delegates should follow the
registration procedure in: http://www.aegean.gr/wdfia08.

General co-Chairs
Socrates Katsikas, University of Piraeus, Greece
Ahmed Patel, University Kebangsaan Malaysia and University of Kingston, UK

Programme co-Chairs
Paula Thomas, University of Glamorgan, UK
Theodore Tryfonas, University of Glamorgan, UK

WDFIA Steering Committee
Stefanos Gritzalis, University of the Aegean, Greece
Socrates Katsikas, University of Piraeus, Greece
Spyros Kokolakis, University of the Aegean, Greece
Javier Lopez, University of Malaga, Spain
Iain Sutherland, University of Glamorgan, UK
Theodore Tryfonas, University of Glamorgan, UK

WDFIA 2008 Technical Programme Committee (to be completed)
D. Bilar, Wellesley College, USA
T. Chen, Southern Methodist University, USA
N. Clarke, University of Plymouth, UK
B. Crispo, University of Trento, Italy
S. Furnell, University of Plymouth, UK
J. Haggerty, Liverpool John Moores University, UK
A. Irons, University of Northumbria, UK
H. Jahankhani, University of East London, UK
P. Kanellis, Athens University of Economics & Business, Greece
M. Karyda, University of the Aegean, Greece
T. Karygiannis, NIST, USA
N. Kolokotronis, University of Peloponnese, Greece
A. Konstadopoulou, University of Bradford, UK
I. Kotenko, SPIIRAS, Russia
C. Lambrinoudakis, University of the Aegean, Greece
S. Mason, St Pauls Chambers, UK
M. Merabti, Liverpool John Moores University, UK
I. Mitchell, Middlesex University, UK
L. Mitrou, University of the Aegean, Greece
G. Pernul, University of Regensburg, Germany
G. Quirchmayer, University of Vienna, Austria
G. Richard III, University of New Orleans, USA
V. Roussev, University of New Orleans, USA
P. Sommer, London School of Economics, UK
D. Spinellis, Athens University of Economics & Business, Greece
P. Tuyls, Philips Research Europe, The Netherlands
S. Venkatesan, The University of Texas at Dallas, USA
Z. Yu, Iowa State University, USA
J. Zhou, Inst. For Infocom Research, Singapore