2009 ACM Workshop on Secure Web Services (SWS)
  November 13, 2009
  Hyatt Regency, Chicago, USA.
  Held in conjunction with the
  16th ACM Conference on Computer and Communications Security (CCS 2009)

Call for Papers

Basic security protocols for Web Services, such as XML Security, the
WS-* series of proposals, SAML, and XACML are the basic set of
building blocks enabling Web Services and the nodes of GRID
architectures to interoperate securely. While these building blocks
are now firmly in place, a number of challenges are still to be met
for Web services and GRID nodes to be fully secured and trusted,
providing for secure communications between cross-platform and
cross-language Web services.  Also, the current trend toward
representing Web services orchestration and choreography via advanced
business process metadata is fostering a further evolution of current
security models and languages, whose key issues include setting and
managing security policies, inter-organizational (trusted partner)
security issues and the implementation of high level business policies
in a Web services environment.

The SWS workshop explores these challenges, ranging from the
advancement and best practices of building block technologies such as
XML and Web services security protocols to higher level issues such as
advanced metadata, general security policies, trust establishment,
risk management, and service assurance.  The workshop provides a forum
for presenting research results, practical experiences, and innovative
ideas in web services security.

Topics of interest include, but are not limited to, the following:

* Web services and GRID computing security
* Authentication and authorization
* Frameworks for managing, establishing and assessing inter-organizational
   trust relationships
* Web services exploitation of Trusted Computing
* Semantics-aware Web service security and Semantic Web Secure orchestration
  of Web services
* Privacy and digital identities support

Important Dates
* Paper submissions due: June 12th, 2009.
* Acceptance notifications: August 16th, 2009.
* Camera-ready papers due: August 25th, 2009.

Submitted papers must not substantially overlap papers that have been
published or that are simultaneously submitted to a journal or a
conference with proceedings.

Submissions must be at most ten pages in double-column ACM format
(note: pages must be numbered), excluding the bibliography and
well-marked appendices and at most 12 pages overall. Committee members
are not required to read appendices, so the paper should be
intelligible without them.  All submissions must be anonymized (an
author's name should only occur in references to that author's related
work, which should be referenced in the third person and not overtly
distinguishable from the referenced work of others). Submissions
should be made electronically in PDF or portable Postscript format
using the SWS09 Submission System at

*CCS General Chair
Ehab Al-Shaer, DePaul University, USA.

*SWS Program co-Chairs
Ernesto Damiani, Information Technology Department, Università degli Studi di
   Milano, Italy.
Seth Proctor, Sun Microsystems Labs, USA.
Anoop Singhal, NIST, USA.

*SWS Program Committee
Rafael Accorsi, University of Freiburg, Germany
Claudio A. Ardagna, Università degli Studi di Milano, Italy
Antonia Azzini, Università degli Studi di Milano, Italy
Jose M. Alcaraz Calero, University of Murcia, Spain
Youakim Badr, INSA Lyon, Villeurbanne, Rhone-Alpes, France
Emmanuel Bruno, Université du Sud Toulon-Var, France.
Richard Chbeir, Université de Bourgogne, France
Frédéric Cuppens, ENST-Bretagne, France.
Eduardo Fernandez-Medina Patòn, Universidad Castilla-La Mancha, Spain.
Christian Geuer-Pollmann, Microsoft, Germany
Sebastian Gajek, Ruhr University Bochum, Germany
Nils Gruschka, NEC Laboratories Europe, Germany
Meiko Jensen, Ruhr University Bochum, Germany
Luigi Lo Iacono, NEC Laboratories Europe, Germany
Gabriel Lopez Millan, University of Murcia, Spain
Alban Gabillon, Universitè de la Polynesie Francaise
Martin Gilje Jaatun, SINTEF, Norway
Holger Junker, Federal Office for Information Security, Germany
Stefania Marrara, Università degli Studi di Milano, Italy
Eric Martin, Amazon, USA
Gregorio Martinez Perez,  University of Murcia, Spain
Michael Munzert, Siemens, DE
Guenther Pernul, University of Regensburg, Germany.
Jörg Schwenk, Ruhr University Bochum, Germany
Denis Trcek, University of Ljubljana, Slovenia
Duminda Wijesekera, George Mason University, USA.