SSR 2014: 1st International conference on Security
                   Standardisation Research

              16th-17th December 2014, London, UK
Over the last two decades a very wide range of standards have been developed
covering a wide range of aspects of cyber security. These documents have
been published by national and international formal standardisation bodies,
as well as by industry consortia. Many of these standards have become very
widely used - to take just one example, the ISO/IEC 27000 series have become
a very widely used basis for managing corporate information security.
Despite their wide use, there will always be a need to revise existing
security standards and to add new standards to cover new domains. The
purpose of this conference is to discuss the many research problems deriving
from studies of existing standards, the development of revisions to existing
standards, and the exploration of completely new areas of standardisation.
Indeed, many security standards bodies are only beginning to address the
issue of transparency, so that the process of selecting security techniques
for standardisation can be seen to be as scientific and unbiased as
This conference is intended to cover the full spectrum of research on
security standardisation, including, but not restricted to, work on
cryptographic techniques (including ANSI, IEEE, IETF, ISO/IEC JTC 1/SC 27,
ITU-T and NIST), security management, security evaluation criteria, network
security, privacy and identity management, smart cards and RFID tags,
biometrics, security modules, and industry-specific security standards (e.g.
those produced by the payments, telecommunications and computing industries
for such things as payment protocols, mobile telephony and trusted
Submissions must not substantially duplicate work that any of the authors
have published elsewhere or have submitted in parallel to any journal or
other conference or workshop that has proceedings.  Submissions will take
place entirely via a web system.  All submissions will be blind-reviewed.
Papers must be anonymous, with no author names, affiliations,
acknowledgements, or obvious references.  A submitted paper should begin
with a title, a short abstract, and a list of keywords.
It is intended that the proceedings of SSR 2014 will be published in the
Springer-Verlag Lecture Notes in Computer Science series. It is also
intended that the proceedings will be available at the conference. Papers
published in the LNCS series are indexed by both EI and ISTP.
Clear instructions for the preparation of a final proceedings version will
be sent to the authors of accepted papers. Authors are strongly recommended
to submit their papers in the standard LNCS format (see
for details), with length at most 15 pages (excluding bibliography and
appendices).  Committee members are not required to review more pages than
this, so papers should be intelligible within this length. Submissions not
meeting these guidelines risk rejection without consideration of their
merits. Authors of accepted papers must guarantee that their paper will be
presented at the conference.
The conference will take place at Royal Holloway, University of London
(RHUL), located on the western edge of the metropolitan area. Royal Holloway
is very convenient for London Heathrow Airport, as well as being close to a
number of historic locations such as Windsor and Runnymede.
Papers must be submitted using the EasyChair conference management system
Please send any enquiries to:
Topics of relevance include, but are not limited to, standards-related
contributions on any of the following topics:
  access control
  cloud computing
  CNI protection
  critiques of standards
  cryptographic protocols
  cryptographic techniques
  evaluation criteria
  formal analysis of standards
  identity management
  industrial control systems security
  internet security
  intrusion detection
  key management and PKIs
  mobile security
  network security
  payment system security
  RFID tag security
  risk analysis
  security controls
  security management
  security protocols
  security services
  security tokens
  smart cards
  telecommunications security
  trusted computing
  web security
Key dates
Deadline for submissions:  Friday 20 June 2014  Notifications to authors:
Wednesday 10 September 2014  Camera ready due:  Thursday 25 September 2014
Opening of conference:  Tuesday 16 December 2014
Conference organisation
General Chair
Chris Mitchell, RHUL, UK
Programme Committee Chair
Liqun Chen, Hewlett-Packard Laboratories, UK
Programme Committee
Ian Bryant, Trustworthy Software Initiative, UK  
David Chadwick, University of Kent, UK  
Takeshi Chikazawa, Information-technology Promotion Agency, Japan  
Lizzie Coles-Kemp, Royal Holloway, University of London, UK  
Cas Cremers, University of Oxford, UK  
Riaal Domingues, South Africa  
Andreas Fuchsberger, Microsoft  
Aline Gouget, Gemalto, France  
Phillip H Griffin, Griffin Information Security, USA  
Bridget Kenyon, University College London, UK  
Eva Kuiper, Hewlett-Packard, USA  
Xuejia Lai, Shanghai Jiaotong University, China  
Pil Joong Lee, Postech, Republic of Korea  
Jiangtao Li, Intel Corporation, USA  
Peter Lipp, Graz University of Technology, Austria  
Joseph Liu, Institute for Infocomm Research, Singapore  
Andrew Martin, University of Oxford, UK  
Shin'ichiro Matsuo, National Institute of Information and
    Communications Technology, Japan
Jinghua Min, China Electronic Cyberspace Great Wall Corporation, China  
Atsuko Miyaji, Japan Advanced Institute of Science and
    Technology, Japan
Kenji Naemura, Institute of Information Security, Japan  
Valtteri Niemi, University of Turku, Finland  
Kenny Paterson, Royal Holloway, University of London, UK  
Angelika Plate, help AG, UAE  
Bart Preneel, Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, Belgium  
Sihan Qing, Peking University, China  
Kai Rannenberg, Goethe University Frankfurt, Germany  
Phillip Rogaway, UC Davis, USA  
Christoph Ruland, University of Siegen, Germany  
Kazue Sako, NEC, Japan  
Dieter Sommer, IBM Zurich Research Laboratory, Switzerland  
Jacques Traore, Orange Labs, France  
Vijay Varadharajan, Macquarie University, Australia  
Claire Vishik, Intel Corporation, UK  
Debby Wallner, USA  
Michael Ward, MasterCard, UK  
Yanjiang Yang, Institute for Infocomm Research, Singapore  
Jianying Zhou, Institute for Infocomm Research, Singapore