23rd International Information Security Conference (SEC 2008)
           co-located with IFIP World Computer Congress 2008
                  Milan, Italy - September 8-10, 2008

The conference seeks submissions from academia and industry presenting
novel research on all theoretical and practical aspects of computer
security, as well as case studies and implementation experiences. Papers
should have practical relevance to the construction, evaluation,
application, or operation of secure systems. Theoretical papers must
make convincing argument for the practical significance of the results.
Topics of interest include, but are not limited to:

- access control
- accounting and audit
- anonymity
- applied cryptography
- authentication
- computer forensics
- cryptographic protocols
- database security
- data protection
- data/system integrity
- digital rights management
- electronic frauds
- identity management
- information warfare
- intrusion detection
- key management
- law and ethics
- peer-to-peer security
- privacy-enhancing technology
- secure location services
- secure networking
- security education
- security management
- smartcards
- commercial and industry security
- data and application security
- inference/controlled disclosure
- risk analysis and risk management
- intellectual property protection
- security in IT outsourcing
- security for mobile code
- trust management
- trust models

Submitted papers must not substantially overlap papers that have been
published or that are simultaneously submitted to a journal or a
conference with proceedings. Papers should be at most 15 pages including
the bibliography and well-marked appendices (using 11-point font and
reasonable margins on letter-size paper), and should be in single-column
format. Committee members are not required to read the appendices, and
so the paper should be intelligible without them. Submissions are to be
made to the submission web site at . Only pdf
or postscript files will be accepted. Submissions not meeting these
guidelines risk rejection without consideration of their merits. Papers
must be received by the deadline of January 10, 2008. Authors of
accepted papers must guarantee that their papers will be presented at
the conference.

Sabrina De Capitani di Vimercati
Universita' degli Studi di Milano, Italy

Giulio Occhini
AICA, Italy

Sushil Jajodia
George Mason University, USA

Pierangela Samarati
Universita' degli Studi di Milano, Italy

Paper Submission due: January 10, 2008
Acceptance notification: March 23, 2008
Final papers due: April 18, 2008

Claudio Ardagna, Universita' degli Studi di Milano, Italy
Vijay Atluri, Rutgers University, USA
Tuomas Aura, Microsoft Research, UK
Aditya Bagchi, Indian Statistical Institute, India
Jan Camenisch, IBM Zurich Research Laboratory, Switzerland
Yves Deswarte, LAAS-CNRS, France
Bart DeDecker, K.U.Leuven, Belgium
Kevin Du, Syracuse University, USA
Jan Eloff, University of Pretoria, South Africa
Simone Fischer-Huebner, Karlstad University, Sweden
Steven Furnell, University of Plymouth, UK
Sara Foresti, Universita' degli Studi di Milano, Italy
Michael Gertz, University of California at Davis, USA
Dimitris Gritzalis, Athens University of Economics and Business, Greece
Dieter Gollmann, Technische Universitat Hamburg, Germany
Le Gruenwald, University of Oklahoma, USA
Yong Guan, Iowa State University, USA
Jaap-Henk Hoepman, Radboud University Nijmegen, Netherlands
Angelos Keromytis, Columbia University, USA
Yongdae Kim, University of Minnesota, USA
Peng Liu, Pennsylvania State University, USA
Javier Lopez, University of Malaga, Spain
Refik Molva, Institut Eurecom, France
Yuko Murayama, Iwate Prefectural University, Japan
Peng Ning, North Carolina State University, USA
Stefano Paraboschi, Universita' di Bergamo, Italy
Philippos Peleties, Universal Bank Public Ltd, Cyprus
G√ľnther Pernul, University of Regensburg, Germany
Sihan Qing, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China
Kai Rannenberg, Goethe University Frankfurt, Germany
Indrajit Ray, Colorado State University, USA
Kent Seamons, Brigham Young University, USA
Cristina Serban, AT&T, USA
Stephanie Teufel, University of Fribourg, Switzerland
Jozef Vyskoc, VaF, Slovak Republic
LingYu Wang, Concordia University, Canada
Sean Wang, University of Vermont, USA
Tatjana Welzer, University of Maribor, Slovenia
Louise Yngstrom, SU/KTH, Sweden

This call for papers and additional information about the conference can
be found at