Call for Workshop Papers

IEEE - Smart City Security and Privacy Workshop SCSP-W


In Conjunction with the 2016 IEEE/ACM Cyber-Physical Systems Week (CPS Week)

April 11, 2016, Vienna, Austria --

** Scope **

The Smart City Security and Privacy Workshop (SCSP-W) seeks novel or
work-in-progress submissions describing practical and theoretical solutions
to the cybersecurity challenges facing Smart Cities. Submissions may
represent any security application area relevant to smart cities. Hence,
papers that are pertinent to the security of Internet of Things (IoT),
Smart-Buildings, Smart-Grid Systems, Critical Infrastructure Networks,
Intelligent Transportation Systems are all welcome. Example topics of
interest are given below, but are not limited to:

Secure smart city architectures and protocols

Authentication mechanisms for smart city infrastructure

Security for smart buildings

Security and privacy for connected transportation systems

Security for smart grid applications

Security for green energy (waste heat, renewables, microgrids, storage)

Security for connected health, mHealth, community health

Legal issues, case studies, experience studies for security and privacy
application to smart cities

Security and privacy for cloud computing applications for smart cities

Security and privacy for mobile computing applications for smart cities

Secure IoT architectures for smart cities

Access control mechanisms for smart city applications

Security on heterogeneous CPS in smart city

Vulnerability analysis of smart city apps

Anonymization in smart city data

Security of industrial control systems

Security of Internet-of-Things

Key management in smart city technologies

Data security and privacy for smart city technologies

Forensics for smart city applications

Intrusion detection for smart city

Energy-efficient and secure smart city apps

Threat models for smart city technologies

Physical layer security for smart city

Availability, recovery and auditing for smart city

Distributed secure solutions for smart city

****** Important Dates *******

Submission Deadline: January 30, 2016

Acceptance Notification: February 12, 2016

Camera Ready: February 15, 2016

Workshop Date: April 11, 2016

****** Submission Instructions ******

Submitted papers must represent original material that is not currently
under review in any other conference or journal, and has not been
previously published. All submissions must be written in English with a
maximum paper length of 5 (five) pages (including text, figures, and
references) and formatted according to the two-column IEEE/ACM conference
format. Accepted papers will be published in the IEEE Digital Library after
the conference and included in CPS Week proceedings.

Papers should be submitted using the EasyChair submission system, using the
following link:

For more information, visit the workshop’s website at:

** Committee **

- Workshop Chairs:

A. Selcuk Uluagac, Florida International University, USA

Mauro Conti, University of Padua, Italy

Apurva Mohan, Honeywell ACS Labs, USA

- Publicity Chair:

Hidayet Aksu, Florida International University, USA
Chhagan Lal, University of Padua, Italy

- Web Chair:

Tooska Dargahi, CNIT/University of Rome Tor Vergata , Italy

** TPC Members (Confirmed) **

Aaron Striegel, University of Notre Dame, USA
Alvaro Cardenas, University of Texas at Dallas, USA
Andreas Reinhardt, TU Clausthal, Germany
Apurva Mohan, Honeywell, USA
Arif Selcuk Uluagac, Florida International University, USA
Christina Pöpper, Ruhr-University Bochum, Germany
Daisuke Mashima, Fujitsu Laboratories of America, USA
Danfeng Yao, Virginia Tech, USA
David Yau, Singapore U Tech and Design, Singapore
Dieter Gollmann, Hamburg University of Technology, Germany
Ehab Al-Shaer, UNCC, USA
Gregorio Lopez, Universidad Carlos III de Madrid., Spain
Junho Hong, ABB USCRC, USA
Kemal Akkaya, Florida International University, USA
Kevin Fairbanks, US Naval Academy , USA
Krishna K. Venkatasubramanian, Worcester Polytechnic Institute, USA
Magnus Almgren, Chalmers University of Technology, Sweden
Marina Krotofil, Hamburg  University of Technology, Germany
Mark Tehranipoor, University of Florida, USA
Mauro Conti, University of Padua, Italy
Ming Li, University of Arizona, USA
Miroslav Pajic, Duke University, USA
Nils Ole Tippenhauer, Singapore University of Technology and Design,
Pierangela Samarati, Università degli Studi di Milano, Italy
Qinghua Li, University of Arkansas, USA
Rakesh B. Bobba, Oregon State University, USA
Ralph Droms, Cisco Systems, USA
Saman Zonouz, Rutgers University, USA
Siva Rajagopalan, Honeywell, USA
Tooska Dargahi, Islamic Azad University- science and research branch, Iran
Walid Saad, Virginia Tech, USA
Xinming Ou, University of South Florida, USA