Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam,
The Netherlands, June 12-14, 2013

The ACM Symposium on Access Control Models and Technologies (SACMAT)
continues the tradition, first established by the ACM Workshop on
Role-Based Access Control, of being the premier forum for the
presentation of research results and experience reports on leading
edge issues of access control, including models, systems,
applications, and theory.  The missions of the symposium are to share
novel access control solutions that fulfil the needs of heterogeneous
applications and environments, and to identify new directions for
future research and development. SACMAT provides researchers and
practitioners with a unique opportunity to share their perspectives
with others interested in the various aspects of access control.
SCOPE Papers offering novel research contributions in all aspects of
access control are solicited for submission to the 18th ACM Symposium
on Access Control Models and Technologies (SACMAT 2013).  Topics of
interest include but are not limited to:

Access control models and extensions
Access control requirements
Access control design methodology
Access control mechanisms, systems, and tools
Access control in distributed and mobile systems
Access control for innovative applications
Administration of access control policies
Economic models for access control
Hardware enhanced access control
Policy/role engineering
Identity management
Safety analysis and enforcement
Standards for access control
Trust management
Trust and risk models in access control
Theoretical foundations for access control models
Usability in access control systems
Usage control

Accepted papers will be presented at the symposium and published by
the ACM in the symposium proceedings.


Abstract submission due: January 6, 2013 (23:59 PST)
Paper submission due: January 13, 2013 (23:59 PST)
Demonstration proposal submission due: January 13, 2013 (23:59 PST)
Panel proposal submission due: January 13, 2013 (23:59 PST)
Notification to authors: March 2, 2013
Camera-ready submission due: March 23, 2013


Authors are required to submit an abstract of their submission at
least a week before the deadline for submission of papers (see
important dates above), in order to expedite the appointment of

Abstracts and papers are to be submitted electronically using the
EasyChair conference management system
(  Papers
should be submitted as a single PDF file, formatted for 8.5" x 11"
paper, and should be no more than 5MB in size.  It is the
responsibility of the authors to ensure that their submission will
print easily on simple default configurations.

Papers must be written in English.  Authors are required to use the
ACM format for papers, using one of the ACM SIG Proceedings Templates
(  The length of
the paper (in the proceedings format) should not exceed ten US letter
pages, excluding wellmarked appendices, and no more than twelve pages
in total.  Committee members are not required to read the appendices,
so papers must be intelligible without them.

The submission must be anonymous, so information that might identify
the authors - including author names, affiliations, acknowledgements,
or obvious self-citations - must be excluded.  It is the authors'
responsibility to ensure that their anonymity is preserved when citing
their own work.

All submissions must contain a significant original contribution.
That is, submitted papers must not substantially overlap papers that
have been published or that are simultaneously submitted to a journal,
conference or workshop.  In particular, simultaneous submission of the
same work is not allowed.  Where appropriate, relevant related work,
including that of the authors, must be cited.


Panel proposals should be no longer than two pages, and should
identify potential panelists, indicating those who have confirmed
their willingness to participate. We especially solicit panels with
participants from industry and/or government. Proposals can be
e-mailed to the Panels Chairs, Ian Molloy ( and
Mahesh Tripunitara (


This year we are planning to include a demonstration session in the
symposium. To be considered for presentation, a proposal describing
the demonstration should be e-mailed to the Demonstrations Chair, Axel
Kern (

The demonstration proposal should clearly describe (1) the overall
architecture of the system or technology demonstrated, and (2) one or
more demonstration scenarios that describes how the audience,
interacting with the demonstration system or the demonstrator, will
gain an understanding of the underlying technology.  Submissions will
be evaluated based on the motivation of the work behind the use of the
system or technology to be demonstrated and its novelty.

Demonstration proposals should be no longer than four pages and should
use the formatting guidelines described above for regular
papers. However, demonstration proposals are not subject to
double-blind reviewing, hence the author(s) name and affiliation(s)
should be included in the submission.  A two-page description of the
demonstration will be included in the final proceedings.


Gail-Joon Ahn (Arizona State University, USA)
Vijay Atluri (Rutgers University, USA)
Lujo Bauer (Carnegie Mellon University, USA)
Elisa Bertino (Purdue University, USA)
Ruth Breu (University of Innsbruck, Austria)
Barbara Carminati (University of Insubria, Italy)
Jason Crampton (Royal Holloway, University of London, UK)
Elena Ferrari (University of Insubria, Italy)
Philip Fong (University of Calgary, Canada)
Michael Huth (Imperial College, UK)
Trent Jaeger (Pennsylvania State University, USA)
James Joshi (University of Pittsburgh, USA)
Murat Kantarcioglu (University of Texas at Dallas, USA)
Axel Kern (Beta Systems Software AG, Germany)
Martin Kuhlmann (Omada A/S, Germany)
Adam Lee (University of Pittsburgh, USA)
Ninghui Li (Purdue University, USA)
Jorge Lobo (IBM, USA)
Haibing Lu (Santa Clara University, USA)
Ian Molloy (IBM, USA)
Sylvia Osborn (University of Western Ontario, Canada)
Jaehong Park (University of Texas at San Antonio, USA)
Alexander Pretschner (Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany)
Indrakshi Ray (Colorado State University, USA)
Giovanni Russello (University of Auckland, NZ)
Reiner Seiler (IBM, USA)
Pierangela Samarati (University of Milan, Italy)
Basit Shafiq (Lahore University of Management Sciences, Pakistan)
Mohamed Shehab (University of North Carolina, Charlotte, USA)
Dongwan Shin (New Mexico Tech, USA)
Anna Squicciarini (Pennsylvania State University, USA)
Mudhakar Srivatsa (IBM, USA)
Scott Stoller (Stony Brook University, USA)
Mahesh Tripunitara (University of Waterloo, Canada)
Dianxiang Xu (Dakota State University, USA)
Ting Yu (North Carolina State University, USA)


General Chair
  Mauro Conti (University of Padua, Italy)

Program Chairs
  Andreas Schaad (SAP Labs, Germany)
  Jaideep Vaidya (Rutgers University, USA)

Panels Chairs
  Ian Molloy (IBM, USA)
  Mahesh Tripunitara (University of Waterloo, Canada)

Demonstrations Chair
  Axel Kern (Beta Systems Software AG, Germany)

Proceedings Chair
  Mohamed Shehab (University of North Carolina at Charlotte, USA)

Publicity Chair
  Lujo Bauer (Carnegie Mellon University, USA)

Local Arrangement Chair
  Asia Slowinska (Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam, NL)

  Basit Shafiq (Rutgers University, USA)

  Dongwan Shin (New Mexico Tech, USA)

Steering Committee Chair
  Gail-Joon Ahn (Arizona State University, USA)

Steering Committee
  Axel Kern (Beta Systems Software AG, Germany)
  Bhavani Thuraisingham (University of Texas at Dallas, USA)
  Indrakshi Ray (Colorado State University, USA)
  Ninghui Li (Purdue University, USA)
  James Joshi (University of Pittsburgh, USA)