Workshop on Physically-augmented Security for Wireless Networks (PILATES 2012)
March 19 - 21, 2012 in Kaiserslautern, Germany


The goal of the PILATES'12 workshop is to discuss "workout plans" in
the discipline of physically-augmented wireless security. In
particular, the focus lies on taking advantage of physical
characteristics of wireless communications as well as of physical
context in general or side-channels to increase the "fitness" of
conventional security protocols. Both single-hop as well as multi-hop
wireless networks are in scope of the workshop. The workshop accepts
technical papers and extended abstracts with topics of interest that
include but are not limited to:

 o  Security primitives derived from wireless communication
 o  Physically-augmented cryptographic protocols
 o  Physically unclonable functions (PUF)
 o  Wireless threat modeling and security analysis
 o  Jamming & anti-jamming security protocols
 o  Secure localization and positioning
 o  Quantitative evaluation of wireless system security
 o  Cross-layer approaches to secure wireless communication
 o  Utilizing multi-* for security (multi-hop, multi-channel, multi-radio, etc.)


PILATES'12 encourages the submission of either long papers or extended
abstracts (position papers). Submissions should not substantially
overlap with papers that have been published or that are
simultaneously submitted to a journal or a conference with
proceedings. Long papers should not exceed 15 pages and extended
abstracts are limited to 3 pages. All the submissions must adhere to
the Springer LNCS format, and should be sent as PDF to
All accepted long paper contributions will appear in the conference
proceedings, whereas the accepted extended abstracts will appear in a
technical report of the University of Kaiserslautern. Authors of the
extended abstracts retain the copyright of their work.


Paper Submission:      November 1, 2011
Author Notification:   December 15, 2011
Final version:         December 30, 2011
Workshop:              March 19-21, 2012


Matthias Hollick, TU Darmstadt, Germany (
Ivan Martinovic, UC Berkeley, US (
Dirk Westhoff, HAW Hamburg, Germany (


Nils Aschenbruck, University of Bonn, DE
Lejla Batina, Radboud University Nijmegen, NL
Claude Castelluccia, INRIA, FR
Karim El Defrawy, HRL Laboratories, US
Aurelien Francillon, Institute Eurecom, FR
Felix Freiling, Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg, DE
Murtuza Jadliwala EPFL, CH
Frank Kargl, University of Twente, NL
Andre Koenig, TU Darmstadt, DE
Loukas Lazos, University of Arizona, US
Guevara Noubir, Northeastern University, US
Gabriele Oligeri, University of Trento, IT
Kasper Bonne Rasmussen, UC Irvine, US
Ahmad-Reza Sadeghi TU Darmstadt, DE
Jean-Pierre Seifert, TU Berlin & T-Labs, DE
Osman Ugus, HAW Hamburg, DE
Ersin Uzun, PARC, US
Matthias Wilhelm, TU Kaiserslautern, DE