September 8-11, 2015 
Twente, The Netherlands

Submissions: April 18, 2015 23:59 (UTC-0, UK time) firm
Acceptance notification: June 11, 2015
Pre-proceedings deadline: August 3, 2015 (ACM SIG formatting required, Option 1)
Workshop: September 8-11, 2015, Twente, The Netherlands
Post-proceedings manuscripts: November 3, 2015

Since 1992, the New Security Paradigms Workshop (NSPW) has offered a
unique forum for computer security/information security research
involving high-risk, high-opportunity paradigms, perspectives and
positions. NSPW seeks embryonic, disruptive, and unconventional ideas
that benefit from early feedback. The ideas are almost always not yet
proven, and sometimes infeasible to validate to the extent expected in
traditional forums. Submissions typically address current limitations
of computer/information security, directly challenge long-held beliefs
or the very foundations of security, or view problems from an entirely
novel angle leading to new solution paradigms. NSPW seeks ideas
pushing the boundaries of science and engineering beyond what would
typically be considered mainstream; papers that would be strong
candidates in "conventional" computer/information security venues are,
as a rule of thumb, a poor fit for NSPW. We welcome papers with
perspectives that augment traditional computer/information security,
both from other computer science disciplines and other sciences that
study adversarial relationships (e.g., biology, economics, the social
sciences). For NSPW 2015, we especially welcome papers from first-time
NSPW authors. The workshop itself is highly interactive with
presentations by authors prepared for in-depth discussions, and ample
opportunity to exchange views with open-minded peers. NSPW is also
distinguished by its deep-rooted tradition of positive feedback,
collegiality, and encouragement.

REGULAR SUBMISSIONS (6-15 pages): NSPW papers vary in format and
style, but often involve a systematic investigation supported by
structured argument. Some involve an opinionated analysis, or explore
a design space that emerges upon replacing a common assumption (even
if this is beyond current technology). Successful submissions show
strong scholarship, demonstrate sound knowledge of related literature
while placing the contributions in context to it, and are often
accompanied by suitable forms of early validation and a research
agenda for broader validation. Ideal papers lead to spirited workshop
discussion, but NSPW is not a debating society — the spirited
discussion should relate to new ideas and perspectives as
characterized above, rather than well-known controversial topics.

NSPHD SUBMISSIONS (New Security Paradigms/PhD; 12 pages maximum): This
category is for students at an early stage in thesis research that
meets the NSPW characteristics noted above, and ideally for thesis
work and directions that would benefit from extensive expert feedback;
the research thus must be preliminary (mature or completed theses are
unsuitable). NSPHD papers may be held to a less rigorous standard than
regular NSPW submissions. The format is flexible, but should outline
your ideas, work completed so far, and what is envisioned as future
work. NSPHD papers are typically omitted from the main proceedings,
but if desired can be made available through links on the NSPW
site. The NSPHD category is not intended for graduate students simply
co-authoring, with faculty advisors, work suitable as a regular
submission. Student authors of accepted NSPHD papers are invited to
present; typically their faculty advisors are not.

PANEL PROPOSALS: NSPW often includes one or two stimulating panel
discussions. If you have an idea for a great panel, we welcome your
proposal. Specify potential panelists including chair, a paragraph or
more outlining the topic, and its suitability for NSPW. The proposers
of accepted panels and the panelists are typically invited to jointly
prepare a short summary for the main proceedings after the workshop.

SUBMISSION PACKAGE: All submissions must be made in PDF-format through
EasyChair at
(with ACM SIG formatting requested, Option 2). Submissions must
include a cover page with authors' names, affiliation, justification
statement and attendance statement. Papers not including these risk
desk rejection, due to NSPW's unique goals and process. The
justification statement should specify a category (Regular, NSPHD, or
Panel), briefly explain why the submission is appropriate for NSPW, and
summarize the new paradigm, perspective or position. The attendance
statement must specify which author(s) commit to attend upon
acceptance/invitation. All submissions are treated as confidential,
both as a matter of policy and in accordance with the U.S. Copyright
Act of 1976. NSPW does not accept papers published elsewhere, nor
submitted to other venues or journals concurrently. Submissions
accompanied by nondisclosure agreements will not be considered.

ACCEPTANCE, ATTENDANCE, PROCEEDINGS: We plan to accept up to a dozen
submissions. The workshop itself is invitation-only, with typically
30-35 participants consisting of authors of accepted papers,
panelists, program committee members and organizers. One author of
each accepted paper must attend; additional authors may be invited if
space permits. All participants must commit to a "social contract": no
one arrives late, no one leaves early, no laptops, and all attend all
sessions of the 2.5 day program, sharing meals in a group setting. The
workshop is preceded by an evening reception allowing attendees to
meet each other beforehand. We expect to offer a limited amount of
financial aid to those who absolutely require it. Final proceedings
are published post-workshop, allowing revised papers to include
feedback received during the workshop.

Matt Bishop (UC Davis, USA)
Kevin Butler (University of Florida, USA)
Bill Cheswick (University of Pennsylvania, USA)
Markus Duermuth (Ruhr-University Bochum, Germany)
Ben Edwards (University of New Mexico, USA)
Allan Friedman (George Washington University, DC, USA)
Mike Just (Heriot-Watt University, Scotland)
Ben Laurie (Google U.K.)
M. Mannan (Concordia University, Canada)
Sarah Meiklejohn (University College London, U.K.)
Sean Peisert (UC Davis/Lawrence Berkeley Lab, USA)
Wolter Pieters (University of Twente & TU Delft, Netherlands)
Christian W. Probst (Technical University of Denmark)
Elizabeth Stobert (Carleton University, Canada)
Andrew White (UNC Chapel Hill, USA)
Mary Ellen Zurko (Cisco, USA)

Rainer Boehme (, University of Muenster, Germany
Paul C. Van Oorschot (, Carleton University, Canada