FINAL CALL FOR PAPERS
            Submission of papers : April 14, 2006 (GMT)


             The 1st International Workshop on Security
                        23-24 October, 2006
                     Kyoto TERRSA, Kyoto, JAPAN


                      Welcome to IWSEC2006

Following the success of a series of Japanese domestic symposia in the 
field of computer security, ISEC and CSEC are delighted to host the 
First International Workshop on Security, IWSEC2006, on October 23-24, 
2006, in Kyoto, Japan.

The complex structure of networks, middleware, agents, P2P applications 
and ubiquitous computing for commercial, personal, communal and public 
use, brought forth the advent of information society in the cyberspace. 
However the system poses new and diverse threats to the world. It is 
imperative for the security researchers to look into the issues from an 
interdisciplinary perspective.

We invite authors to contribute papers addressing the topics: from 
traditional theory and tools on security to up-to-date issues. 

                       Conference  Scope

Papers may present theory, applications or practical experiences on 
topics including, but not limited to:

 - Fundamental Tools for Information Security
 - Network and Distributed Systems Security
 - Privacy Enhancing Technology
 - Secure Living and Working Environments
 - Security in Commerce and Government
 - Security Management
 - Software and System Security
 - Protection of Critical Infrastructures
 - Testing, Verification and Certification
 - Law, Policy, Ethics and Related Technologies

                        Paper submission

Submitted papers must be original, unpublished, and not submitted to 
another conference or journal for consideration of publication. Papers 
must be written in English and be fully anonymous with no author names, 
affiliations, acknowledgements or obvious references. They should be at 
the maximum of 16 pages in total, in standard LNCS format (except for 
author names and affiliations). Papers should be sufficiently 
intelligible and self contained without appendices so that PC members 
can review papers without them.

Accepted papers will be presented at the workshop and published in the 
book of proceedings. At least one author of each accepted paper is 
required to register and participate in the workshop in Kyoto to present 
the paper. Proceedings will be published in a special volume of Springer 

Papers must be submitted in electronic form through the web.
Web site for the electronic submission is now available at 
http://www.iwsec.org/submission.html .
Submissions not meeting the submission guidelines risk rejection
without consideration of their merits.


Late October is one of the best seasons to visit Japan, and the 
organizers are most pleased to host the conference in the city of Kyoto, 
where the tradition and modernity exist in harmony. While modern 
buildings line the main streets, the city maintains the serenity of an 
ancient capitol. Recognized by UNESCO as the World Cultural Heritage, 
the city is filled with ancient temples and beautiful gardens. For the 
visitors from outside Japan, Kyoto is easily accessible from Kansai 

Important dates:      - Submission of papers : April 14, 2006 (GMT)
                      - Notification to authors : June 13, 2006 (GMT)
                      - Camera-ready due : July 3, 2006 (GMT)

Contact to:  info@iwsec.org


Conference General co-Chairs:
         Yuko Murayama, Iwate Prefectural University, Japan
         Shinichi Kawamura, Toshiba Corporation, Japan

Advisory Committee:
         Norihisa Doi, Chuo University, Japan
         Akira Hayashi, Kanazawa Institute of Technology, Japan
         Hideki Imai, The University of Tokyo, Japan
         Guenter Mueller, University of Freiburg, Germany
         Eiji Okamoto, University of Tsukuba, Japan
         Ryoichi Sasaki, Tokyo Denki University, Japan
         Shigeo Tsujii, Institute of Information Security, Japan

Programme Committee co-Chairs:
         Hiroshi Yoshiura, University of Electro-Communications, Japan
         Kouichi Sakurai, Kyushu University, Japan
         Kai Rannenberg, Goethe University Frankfurt, Germany

Local Organizing Committee co-Chairs:
         Tetsutaro UEHARA, Kyoto University, JAPAN
         Masakatsu MORII, Kobe University, JAPAN

Program Committee:
Thomas Berson, Anagram Labs, USA
Bob Blakley, Texas A&M University, USA
Soon Ae Chun, City University of New York, USA
George Davida, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, USA
Hiroshi Doi, Institute of Information Security, Japan
Paul Dowland, University of Plymouth, UK
Isao Echizen, Hitachi, Ltd., Japan
Jan Eloff, University of Pretoria, South Africa
Steven Furnell, University of Plymouth, UK
Soichi Furuya, Hitachi, Ltd., Japan
Dieter Gollmann, TU Harburg, Germany
Dimitris Gritzalis, Athens University of Economics & Business, Greece
Sushil Jajodia, George Mason Universit, USA
Shinichi Kawamura, Toshiba Corporation, Japan
Angelos Keromytis, Columbia University, USA
Hiroaki Kikuchi, Tokai University, Japan
Kwangjo Kim, Information and Communications University, Korea
Seungjoo Kim, Sungkyunkwan University, Korea
Michiharu Kudo, IBM Japan, Japan
Xuejia Lai, Shanghai Jiao Tong University, China
Kwok-Yan Lam, Tsinghua University, China
Dong-Hoon Lee, Korea University, Korea
William List, Firm Wm. List & Co., UK
Javier Lopez, University of Malaga, Spain
Masahiro Mambo, University of Tsukuba, Japan
Mitsuru Matsui, Mitsubishi Electric Co., Japan
Kanta Matsuura, The University of Tokyo, Japan
Patrick McDaniel, Penn State University, USA
Atsuko Miyaji, Japan Advanced Institute of Science and Technology, Japan
Masakatsu Morii, Kobe University, Japan
Guenter Mueller, University of Freiburg, Germany
Yuko Murayama, Iwate Prefectural University, Japan
Masakatsu Nishigaki, Shizuoka University, Japan
Raphael Phan, Swinburne University of Technology, Malaysia
Hartmut Pohl, University of Applied Sciences Bonn-Rhein-Sieg, Germany
Bimal Roy, Indian Statistical Institute, India
Rossouw von Solms, Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University, South Africa
Leon Strous, De Nederlandsche Bank, The Netherlands
Willy Susilo, University of Wollongong, Australia
Tsuyoshi Takagi, Future University Hakodate, Japan
Toshiaki Tanaka, KDDI Co., Japan
Masato Terada, Hitachi, Ltd., Japan
Masayuki Terada, NTT DoCoMo, Inc., Japan
Doug Tygar, UC Berkeley, USA
Ryuya Uda, Tokyo University of Technology, Japan
Tetsutaro Uehara, Kyoto University, Japan
Vijay Varadharajan, Macquarie University, Australia
Teemupekka Virtanen, Helsinki University of Technology, Finland
Jozef Vyskoc, VaF, Slovak Republic
Bin Xiao, Hong Kong Polytechnic University, Hong Kong
Duncan Wong, City University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong
Sung-Ming Yen, National Central University, Taiwan
Moti Yung, RSA Laboratories, USA
Jianying Zhou, Institute for Infocomm Research, Singapore
Albin Zuccato, Karlstad University, Sweden