Call for Papers

SPECIAL TRACK on the Grand Challenge on Verified Software

ICTAC 2010
International Colloquium on Theoretical Aspects of Computing
Natal, Rio Grande do Norte, Brazil
1-3 September, 2010

Authors of a selection of the accepted papers will be invited to
submit an extended version of their papers to a special issue of
Elsevier's journal Theoretical Computer Science.

LNCS proceedings confirmed.

Background and Objectives

ICTAC is an International Colloquium on Theoretical Aspects of
Computing created by the International Institute for Software
Technology of the United Nations University (UNU-IIST).  The aim of
the colloquium is to bring together practitioners and researchers from
academia, industry, and government to present research results, and
exchange experience, ideas, and solutions for their problems in
theoretical aspects of computing.  Beyond these scholarly goals,
another main purpose of the conference is to promote cooperation in
research and education between participants and their institutions,
from developing and industrial countries, as in the mandate of the
United Nations University.  The previous six ICTAC events were held in
Guiyang (2004), Hanoi (2005), Tunis (2006), Macau (2007), Istanbul
(2008), and Kuala Lumpur (2009).

ICTAC 2010 includes two special tracks: a track on Formal Approaches
to Testing, chaired by Marie-Claude Gaudel, and a track on the Grand
Challenge in Verified Software, chaired by Jim Woodcock.  Papers
accepted in the special tracks will be included in the
proceedings. Moreover, they may be selected for the special issue of
Theoretical Computer Science.

Topics For Special Track on Grand Challenge in Verified Software

We welcome papers making a contribution towards the Verified Software
Initiative.  See

Hoare, Misra, Leavens, & Shankar 
The Verified Software Initiative: A Manifesto 

Submissions to the tracks must not have been published or be
concurrently considered for publication elsewhere.  All submissions
will be judged on the basis of originality, contribution to the field,
technical and presentation quality, and relevance to the track by
members of the ICTAC Program Committee who are specialists in this
domain.  Papers should be written in English and not exceed 15 pages
in LNCS format (see  for
details).  Papers shall be submitted through EasyChair: <>.  All queries should be sent to:

Important Dates

Submission of abstracts: March 8th, 2010
Submission deadline: March 15th, 2010
Notification of results: April 30th, 2010
Final version: May 16th, 2010

Steering Committee

John Fitzgerald, UK
Martin Leucker, Germany
Zhiming Liu (Chair), Macao
Tobias Nipkow, Germany
Augusto Sampaio, Brazil
Natarajan Shankar, USA
Jim Woodcock, UK

Special Tracks Chairs

Marie-Claude Gaudel, France
Jim Woodcock, UK

Program Committee

Bernhard Aichernig, Austria
Keijiro Araki, Japan
Jonathan Bowen, UK
Christiano Braga, Brazil
Michael Butler, UK
Andrew Butterfield, Ireland
Ana Cavalcanti, UK (chair)
Antonio Cerone, Macao
Jim Davies, UK
David Deharbe, Brazil (chair)
John Fitzgerald, UK
Wan Fokkink, Netherlands
Pascal Fontaine, France
Marcelo Frias, Argentina
Lindsay Groves, New Zealand
Michael Hansen, Denmark
Robert Hierons, UK
Monzoo Kim, South Korea
Maciej Koutny, UK
Pascale Le Gall, France
Martin Leucker, Germany
Zhiming Liu, Macao
Patricia Machado, Brazil
Marius Minea, Romania
Ali Mili, USA
Michael Mislove, USA
Tobias Nipkow, Germany
Jose Nuno Oliveira, Portugal
Paritosh Pandya, India
Alberto Pardo, Uruguay
Anders P Ravn, Denmark
Leila Ribeiro, Brazil
Markus Roggenbach, UK
Augusto Sampaio, Brazil
Bernhard Schaetz, Germany
Gerhard Schellhorn, Germany
Emil Sekerinski, Canada
Natarajan Shankar, USA
Marjan Sirjani, Iran
Jin Song Dong, Singapore
Dang Van Hung, Vietnam
Daniel Varro, Hungary
Helmut Veith, Germany
Ji Wang, China
Martin Wirsing, Germany
Burkhart Wolff, France
Husnu Yenigun, Turkey
Naijun Zhan, China

Organising Committee

David Deharbe, Brazil
Anamaria Moreira, Brazil
Bartira Rocha, Brazil
Marcel Oliveira, Brazil