Sixth International Symposium on Human Aspects of Information Security and Assurance (HAISA 2012)
Supported by IFIP Working Group 11.12 

Creta Maris Convention Resort, Hersonissos, Crete, Greece
6-8 June 2012
Call for Papers

It is commonly acknowledged that security requirements cannot be
addressed by technical means alone, and that a significant aspect of
protection comes down to the attitudes, awareness, behaviour and
capabilities of the people involved.  Indeed, people can potentially
represent a key asset in achieving security, but factors such as lack
of awareness and understanding, combined with unreasonable demands
from security technologies, can dramatically impede their ability to
do so.  With this in mind, HAISA 2012 specifically addresses
information security issues that relate to people.  It concerns the
methods that inform and guide users' understanding of security, and
the technologies that can benefit and support them in achieving

HAISA 2012 is supported by IFIP Working Group 11.12, and immediately
follows the IFIP SEC 2012 international conference at the same venue.


HAISA 2012 welcomes papers addressing research and case studies in
relation to any aspect of information security that pertains to the
attitudes, perceptions and behaviour of people, and how human
characteristics or technologies may be positively modified to improve
the level of protection. Indicative themes include:

Information security culture 
Awareness and education methods 
Enhancing risk perception
Public understanding of security
Usable security 
Psychological models of security software usage
User acceptance of security policies and technologies
User-friendly authentication methods
Biometric technologies and impacts
Automating security functionality Non-intrusive security 
Assisting security administration 
Impacts of standards, policies, compliance requirements 
Organizational governance for information assurance
Simplifying risk and threat assessment
Understanding motivations for misuse
Social engineering and other human-related risks
Privacy attitudes and practices
Computer ethics and security

Author guidelines

Authors are invited to submit full papers, not exceeding ten pages
(including all figures, tables and references) by 13th February
2012. Comprehensive author guidelines, including details of acceptable
file formats, will be available on the HAISA website.  Please refer to
this before submission. All papers will be double-blind reviewed by at
least three members of the International Programme Committee.

Important Dates

Paper submission:	13th February 2012
Author notification:	9th April 2012
Final papers:		30st April 2012


Conference co-chairs:	Prof. Steven Furnell and Dr Nathan Clarke	

International Programme Committee

Helen Armstrong (Curtin University, Australia)
William Buchanan (Napier University, United Kingdom)
Jeff Crume (IBM, United States)
Dorothy Denning (Naval Postgraduate School, United States)
Ronald Dodge (United States Military Academy, United States)
Paul Dowland (University of Plymouth, United Kingdom)
Jan Eloff (University of Pretoria, South Africa)
Simone Fischer-Huebner (Karlstad University, Sweden)
Sarah Gordon (United States)
Stefanos Gritzalis (University of the Aegean, Greece)
John Howie (Microsoft, United States)
William Hutchinson (Edith Cowan University, Australia)
Murray Jennex (San Diego State University, United States)
Andy Jones (Khalifa University of Science, Technology and Research, UAE;
    Edith Cowan University, Australia)
Vasilios Katos (Democritus University of Thrace, Greece)
Sokratis Katsikas (University of Piraeus, Greece)
Costas Lambrinoudakis (University of the Aegean, Greece)
Javier Lopez (University of Malaga, Spain)
George Magklaras (University of Oslo, Norway)
Maria Papadaki (University of Plymouth, United Kingdom)
Malcolm Pattinson (University of Adelaide, Australia)
Rossouw von Solms (Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University, South Africa)
Kerry-Lynn Thomson (Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University, South Africa)
Theo Tryfonas (University of Bristol, United Kingdom)
Kim Vu (California State University, United States)
Jeremy Ward (Symantec EMEA, United Kingdom)
Merrill Warkentin (Mississippi State University, United States)
Wei Yan (Trend Micro, United States)
Louise Yngstrom (Stockholm University, Sweden)
Mary Ellen Zurko (IBM, United States)