Joint Workshop on Foundations of Computer Security
and on Formal and Computational Cryptography (FCS-FCC 2014)
18 July 2014, Vienna, Austria
Affiliated with CSF 2014 and CSL-LICS 2014
Part of the Vienna Summer of Logic (VSL 2014)


Ueli Maurer, ETH Zurich
Graham Steel, Cryptosense & INRIA


Submission:                     April 18, 2014
Notification of acceptance:     May 30, 2014
Final papers due:               June 25, 2014
Workshop:                       July 18, 2014


Computer security is an established field of computer science of both
theoretical and practical significance. In recent years, there has been
sustained interest in logic-based foundations for various methods in
computer security, including the formal specification, analysis, and
design of cryptographic protocols and their applications; the formal
definition of various aspects of security such as access control
mechanisms, mobile code security and denial-of-service attacks; and the
modeling of information flow and its application to confidentiality
policies, system composition, and covert channel analysis. 

The aim of the FCS-FCC 2014 workshop is to provide a forum for continued
activity in this area. Historically, FCS has contributed to bringing
computer security researchers in closer contact with the LICS community,
and given LICS attendees an opportunity to talk to experts in computer
security. FCC, traditionally affiliated with CSF, provides a dedicated
venue to present recent advances in the field of computationally-sound
cryptographic protocol analysis. Both these areas---logical foundations
and protocol analysis---are of interest to large subsets of the CSF

We are interested both in new results in theories of computer security
and also in more exploratory presentations that examine open questions
and raise fundamental concerns about existing theories, as well as in
new results on developing and applying automated reasoning techniques
and tools for the formal specification and analysis of security
protocols. We thus solicit submissions of papers both on mature work and
on work in progress.


All submissions will be peer-reviewed. Authors of accepted papers must
guarantee that their paper will be presented at the workshop.

FCS-FCC 2014 welcomes two kinds of submissions:
* short abstracts (1 page, including references and appendices), and
* full papers (at most 12 pages, excluding references and well-marked 

Short abstracts will receive as rigorous review as do full papers. Short
abstracts may receive shorter talk slots at the workshop than do full
papers, depending on the number of accepted submissions. Papers should
be submitted using the two-column IEEE Proceedings style available for
various document preparation systems at the IEEE Conference Publishing
Services page.

Authors are invited to submit their papers electronically, as portable
document format (pdf); please, do not send files formatted for word
processing packages (e.g., Microsoft Word or WordPerfect files). 
Papers must be submitted at the following site: 


The workshop has no published proceedings. Presenting a paper at the
workshop should not preclude submission to or publication in other
venues. The papers presented at the workshop will be made publicly
available, but this will not constitute an official proceedings.


Pedro Adao (SQIG-IT and IST-Universidade de Lisboa, Portugal)
Mario Alvim (UFMG, Brazil)
Aslan Askarov (Harvard University, USA)
Michael Clarkson (The George Washington University, USA, co-chair)
Hubert Comon-Lundh (LSV, CNRS, ENS de Cachan, France)
Veronique Cortier (LORIA, CNRS, France)
Catalin Hritcu (INRIA, France)
Limin Jia (Carnegie Mellon University, USA)
Dan Kifer (Penn State, USA)  
Masoud Koleini (The George Washington University, USA)
Boris Koepf (IMDEA Software Institute, Spain, co-chair)
Ralf Kuesters (University of Trier, Germany)
Matteo Maffei (CISPA, Saarland University, Germany, co-chair)
Carroll Morgan (University of New South Wales, Australia)
Alejandro Russo (Chalmers University, Sweden)
Ben Smyth (INRIA, France)
Pierre-Yves Strub (IMDEA Software Institute, Spain)
Nikhil Swamy (Microsoft Research, USA)
Tachio Terauchi (Nagoya University, Japan)
Dominique Unruh (University of Tartu, Estonia)
Jeff Vaughan (LogicBlox, USA)
Santiago Zanella Beguelin (Microsoft Research, UK)