Fourth International Workshop on Data Privacy Management
Co-located with ESORICS 2009
September 24-25, 2009, Saint Malo, France.


The organizations are increasingly concerned about the privacy of
information that they manage (several people have filed lawsuits
against organizations violating the privacy of customers data).  Thus,
the management of privacy sensitive information is a very critical and
important for every organization. This poses several challenging
problems, such as how to translate the high-level business goals into
system-level privacy policies, administration of privacy sensitive
data, privacy data integration and engineering, privacy access control
mechanism, information-oriented security, query execution on privacy
sensitive data for partial answers.


The aim of this workshop is to discuss and exchange the ideas related
to privacy data management. We invite papers from researchers and
practitioners working in privacy, security, trustworthy data systems
and related areas to submit their original papers in this
workshop. The main topics, but not limited to, include:

 * Privacy Information Administration
 * Privacy Policy-based Infrastructures and Architectures
 * Privacy-oriented Access Control Language
 * Privacy in Trust Management
 * Privacy Data Integration
 * Privacy Risk Assessment and Assurance
 * Privacy Services
 * Privacy Policy Analysis
 * Query Execution over Privacy Sensitive Data
 * Privacy Preserving Data Mining
 * Hippocratic and Water-marking Databases
 * Privacy for Integrity-based Computing
 * Privacy Monitoring and Auditing
 * Privacy in Social Networks
 * Privacy in Ambient Intelligence (AmI) Applications
 * Conciliation of Individual Privacy and Corporate/National Security
 * Privacy in computer networks
 * Privacy and RFIDs
 * Privacy in Sensor Networks

Submission Guidelines:

Papers should be up to 15 pages in English, including bibliography and
well-marked appendices. Proceedings will be published by
Springer-Verlag in the Lecture Notes in Computer Science (LNCS) series
after the workshop. At least one author of each accepted paper is
required to register with the workshop and present the paper.

Papers should be sent as an attached PDF file to

File names should follow this scheme: surname.pdf (multiple author
papers should be: surname1_surname2.pdf). The subject of the message
should contain the text DPM09 paper submission. The body of the e-mail
message should contain IN PLAIN TEXT: (i) the title of the submission;
(ii) the abstract of the submission; (iii) the names and affiliations
of the authors; (iv) the e-mail and telephone number of the contact
author; (v) keywords classifying the paper topic. Correct reception of
submitted papers will be acknowledged. Please, wait for two days
before resending the paper.

All the contributions will be subject to a peer-review by at
least three referees from the Program Committee. The submitted
contribution should be formatted according to Springer's LNCS 

Extended and revised of outstanding papers from the conference will be
published, on the base of their arguments, in special issues of two
international journals.

Further instructions for submission can be found on the
Submission section of the DPM 2009 web page.

Important dates:

 * Intention of submission: ASAP. Send a mail to
 * Intention of attendance: ASAP. Send a mail to
 * Paper submission: June 28, 2009 (23h59 UTC)
 * Notification: July 27, 2009
 * Registration: 2009
 * Camera-ready papers: August 17, 2009


 Program Committee Chairs:

  * Joaquin Garcia-Alfaro (UOC/Carleton University)
  * Guillermo Navarro-Arribas (IIIA-CSIC)

 General Chairs:

  * Vicenc Torra (IIIA-CSIC)
  * Josep Domingo-Ferrer (Rovira i Virgili University)

 Program Committee:

  * Alessandro Acquisti (Carnegie Mellon University)
  * Michel Barbeau (Carleton University)
  * Marina Blanton (University of Notre Dame)
  * Joan Borrell (Autonomous University of Barcelona)
  * Iliano Cervesato (Carnegie Mellon University)
  * Valentina Ciriani (University of Milan)
  * Frederic Cuppens (TELECOM Bretagne)
  * Nora Cuppens-Boulahia (TELECOM Bretagne)
  * Ernesto Damiani (University of Milan)
  * Claudia Diaz (K.U.Leuven)
  * Josep Domingo-Ferrer (Rovira i Virgili University)
  * Joaquin Garcia-Alfaro (UOC/Carleton University)
  * Stefanos Gritzalis (University of the Aegean)
  * Jordi Herrera (Autonomous University of Barcelona)
  * Apu Kapadia (MIT Lincoln Laboratory)
  * Evangelos Kranakis (Carleton University)
  * Loukas Lazos (University of Arizona)
  * Kun Liu (IBM Almaden Research Center) 
  * Fabio Massacci (Universita di Trento)
  * Gero Muhl (Berlin University of Technology)
  * Guillermo Navarro-Arribas (IIIA-CSIC)
  * Radha Poovendran (University of Washington)
  * Utz Roedig (Lancaster University)
  * Thierry Sans (Carnegie Mellon University)
  * Vicenc Torra (IIIA-CSIC)
  * Nicola Zannone (Eindhoven University of Technology)