Cybercrime and Trustworthy Computing (CTC-2009)


Paul A. Watters, University of Ballarat and 
Josef Pieprzyk, Macquarie University

CTC-2009 is a workshop held in conjunction with the 6th International
Conference on Autonomic and Trusted Computing The conference is held on 
7-10 July 2009 in Brisbane, Australia.


Cybercrime continues to be a growth industry, assisted by a
combination of technical factors, such as insecure hardware and
software platforms, and psychological factors, such as user error or
naivety. The objective of this workshop is to bring together two
distinct groups to encourage further collaboration - those who are
working on researching cybercrime activity, such as phishing and
malware, and those who are working on technical countermeasures.

The scope of the workshop is reasonably narrow, to ensure a
complementary match between capability and need. Papers should either
be empirically or rationally based explorations of problems in
cybercrime, or propose solutions and/or countermeasures to the most
pressing cybercrimes.

Example topic areas on the cybercrime theme might include: 

Phishing, SPAM 
Malware, Botnets 
Scams, including advance fee fraud, romance scams etc 
Forensic means to classify e-mail messages or web pages soliciting
cybercrime or providing a vector for attack
Forensic means to cluster and identify different groups or modus
operandi arising from distinct "kits"
For the countermeasures side, topic areas might include: 
User education and/or psychological operations 

A major theme of the event will be to plan future research
interactions and relationships between industry and academia.


All submissions are to be made using the Easychair system. At least
one author of each accepted paper is required to register and present
their work at the conference, otherwise the paper will not be included
in the proceedings. The workshop proceedings will be published by IEEE
(EI indexed). Selected papers, after extension and further revisions,
will be published in a special issue of a prestigious journal.

Papers should be written using the IEEE CS style, 6 pages.

Paper Submission Deadline: 15 February 2009 
Paper Status Notification: 25 March 2009 
Camera-ready Due: 10 April 2009

Program Committee Members

Professor Chris Mitchell, Royal Holloway, University of London
Professor Josef Pieprzyk, Macquarie University
Associate Professor Ray Hunt, Canterbury University
Associate Professor Paul Watters, University of Ballarat
Associate Professor Hank Wolfe, Otago University 
Dr Liping Ma, University of Ballarat

Mr. Simon Brown, Westpac
Mr. Richard Johnson, Westpac
Mr. Stephen McCombie, National Australia Bank
Ms. Megan O'Neill, IBM
Mr. Ben Reardon, National Australia Bank
Mr. Richard Martin, APACS
Mr. Cameron Woolfe, IBM
Commander Neil Gaughan, Australian Federal Police

Website Address 

Contact details
Email queries to