The First ACM Computer Security Architecture Workshop


A workshop held in conjunction with the

ACM Conference on Computers and Communications

November 2, 2007 * George Mason University * Fairfax, Virginia, USA


The Computer Security Architecture Workshop (CSAW)}--pronounced
see-saw--solicits papers on security architectures, their interfaces,
implementations, and implications.

Architectures, whether system or application, are composed of
abstractions (interfaces) and their implementations.  Security
Architectures are architectures which enable implementations that are
resilient to an appropriate and broad-based spectrum of threats.  An
evaluation of a Security Architecture requires understanding these
threats; the tradeoffs between different system goals, including
between security and non-security goals; the long-term appropriateness
of its interfaces; and the implementations it allows.  The best
interfaces are those that capture the most important issues, enable
different implementations, and are flexible enough to adapt (or be
adapted) to different threats.

Two well-known issues are particularly important: First, complexity is
a source of security holes. Second, security is a matter of the
weakest link.  Because of the need to balance off complexity versus
protections, these tradeoffs are often controversial.  Other tradeoffs
include performance, usability, and flexibility. This workshop focuses
on understanding the new ideas that will compose the next generation
of Security Architectures.

The design and evaluation of Security Architectures is of fundamental
importance to security.  And yet, many of our fundamental
architectures were created when security was less appreciated and less
well understood.  Since it is notoriously difficult to add security
after the fact, our systems are far too susceptible to attack.
Moreover, architectures, because they are broad based, are difficult
to understand and this is a specialized workshop in which Security
Architecture experts will gather.  As far as we know, this workshop is
unique in its focus on Security Architectures.

The workshop topics include, but are not limited to:

Network security
Distributed systems
Operating systems
Applications and security frameworks
Specialized applications such as voting systems
Hardware/software co-design for security
Analysis of architectures
System composability (properties, pitfalls, analysis & reasoning)
Assurance techniques
Case studies
Usability issues


Submission instructions

Submitted papers must not substantially overlap papers that have been
published or that are simultaneously submitted to a journal or a
conference with proceedings. Submissions should be at most 6 pages in
doublecolumn ACM format, excluding the bibliography and well-marked
appendices. Please include page numbers on all submissions to make it
easier for reviewers to provide helpful comments. Committee members
are not required to read appendices, so the paper should be
intelligible without them. Final proceedings versions will be 10 pages
in double-column ACM format; although authors will have the option of
buying a limited number of additional pages. Submissions are not
For further details see \url{}.


                           Poster/Lightning round

The workshop will have a poster session or
a lightning round of works in progress.
Details will be available in late summer.


                           Important dates

Paper submissions due:              17 June 2007
Notification to the authors:	   3rd week of July
Camera ready papers due:	     2 August 2007
Poster/Lightning round submission:  14 September 2007
Workshop date:                       2 November 2007



General Chair    

Vijay Atluri, Rutgers University

Organizing committee    

Daniel J. Bernstein, Trent Jaeger, Angelos Keromytis,
Ravi Sandhu, and Jon A. Solworth

Program Co-Chairs

Ravi Sandhu, George-Mason/Univ. of Texas, San Antonio
Jon A. Solworth, UIC

Program Committee

Scott Alexander, Telcordia
Steven M. Bellovin, Columbia
Daniel J. Bernstein, UIC
Tal Garfinkel, Stanford
Jonathon Giffin, Georgia Tech
Trent Jaeger, Penn State
Angelos Keromytis, Columbia
Peter G. Neumann, SRI
Karl N. Levitt, NSF
Sam King, UIUC
Reiner Sailer, IBM Research
Umesh Shankar, Google
Sean Smith, Dartmouth
Nicholas Weaver, ICSI, Berkeley