CHES 2008

Washington, D.C.,  USA
August 10-13, 2008
(sponsored by IACR)


CHES is the premier forum for presenting new results and scientific
advances in all aspects of cryptographic hardware and security for
embedded systems. Of special interest are contributions that describe
new methods for secure and efficient hardware implementation of
cryptography, hardware support for secure and trustworthy software and
high-speed or leak-resistant software for embedded systems, smart
cards, microprocessors, DSPs, etc. The workshop helps to bridge the
gap between the cryptography research community and the application
areas of cryptography. Consequently, we encourage submissions from
academia, industry, and other organizations. All submitted papers will
be reviewed and the conference proceedings will be published by
Springer as part of the Lecture Notes in Computer Science (LNCS)

This will be the tenth CHES workshop. CHES 1999 and CHES 2000 were
held at WPI, CHES 2001 in Paris, CHES 2002 in the San Francisco Bay
Area, CHES 2003 in Cologne, CHES 2004 in Boston, CHES 2005 in
Edinburgh, CHES 2006 in Yokohama and CHES 2007 in Vienna.  The number
of participants has grown to more than 250, with attendees coming from
industry, academia, and government organizations. The topics of CHES
2008 include but are not limited to:

   - Architectures for public-key  & secret-key cryptosystems
   - Reconfigurable hardware  & FPGAs for cryptography
   - Cryptography for ubiquitous computing and wireless applications
   - Efficient arithmetic algorithms
   - Special-purpose hardware for cryptanalysis
   - Architectures for trusted computing
   - Device identification
   - Smart card architectures and attacks
   - True and pseudorandom number generators
   - Security for embedded software and systems
   - Efficient software algorithms for embedded processors
   - Formal methods and tools for secure hardware design
   - Cryptographic processors and co-processors
   - Security in commercial consumer applications (pay-TV, automotive, etc)
   - Hardware tamper resistance
   - Technologies and hardware for content protection
   - Side channel attacks and countermeasures
   - Non-classical cryptographic technologies


Authors are invited to submit original papers in PDF format at the
electronic  submission site:
Instructions and details of the submission process are posted at
that site.

Authors are invited to submit original papers via electronic
submission. Details of the electronic submission procedure will be
posted on the CHES webpage (http://www.chesworkshop.org) when the
system is activated, a month before the submission deadline.

The submission must be anonymous, with no author names, affiliations,
acknowledgments, or obvious references. It should begin with a
title, a short abstract, and a list of keywords.  The paper should be
at most 12 pages (excluding the bibliography and clearly marked
appendices), and at most 15 pages in total, using at least 11-point
font and reasonable margins.  Submissions not meeting these guidelines
risk rejection without consideration of their merits.  All submissions
will be blind-refereed.

Policy against double submissions

Only original research contributions will be considered. Submissions
that substantially duplicate work that any of the authors have
published elsewhere, or have submitted in parallel to any other
conferences or workshops that have proceedings, will be instantly
rejected. Authors should be aware that we will co-operate with other
conference committees to identify potential double-submissions and
strictly enforce the IACR Policy on Irregular Submissions


Submission deadline:       Feb 29th, 2008, 23:59 EST
Acceptance notification:   April 25th, 2008
Final version due:         May 16th, 2008
Workshop presentations:    August 11th - 13th, 2008


If you wish to receive subsequent Call for Papers and registration
information, please send a brief mail to mailinglist@chesworkshop.org.
Your details will only be used for sending CHES related information.


   - Daniel V. Bailey, RSA Laboratories, USA
   - Lejla Batina, Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, Belgium
   - Feng Bao, Institute for Infocomm Research, Singapore
   - Daniel J. Bernstein, Univ. of Illinois, Chicago, USA
   - Suresh Chari, IBM Research, USA
   - Christophe Clavier, Gemalto, France
   - Jean-Sebastien Coron, Univ. of Luxembourg, Luxembourg
   - Markus Dichtl, Siemens AG, Germany
   - Louis Goubin, Universite de Versailles, France
   - Anwar Hasan, Univ. of Waterloo, Canada
   - Joshua Jaffe, Cryptography Research, USA
   - Marc Joye, Thomson R&D, France
   - Cetin Kaya Koc, Oregon State University, USA
   - Markus Kuhn, University of Cambridge, UK
   - Klaus Kursawe, Philips Research, Netherlands
   - Ruby Lee, Princeton University, USA
   - Kerstin Lemke-Rust, T-Systems, Germany
   - Arjen Lenstra, EPFL, Switzerland,
                    and Alcatel-Lucent Bell Laboratories, USA
   - Stefan Mangard, Infineon Technologies, Germany
   - Mitsuru Matsui, Mitsubishi Electric, Japan
   - Maire McLoone, Queens University Belfast, UK
   - David Naccache, ENS, France
   - Katsuyuki Okeya, Hitachi, Japan
   - Christof Paar, Ruhr-Universitat Bochum, Germany
   - Dan Page, Univ. of Bristol, UK
   - Pascal Paillier, Gemalto, France
   - Emmanuel Prouff, Oberthur Card Systems, France
   - Jean-Jacques Quisquater, Universite Catholique de Louvain, Belgium
   - Anand Raghunathan, NEC Labs, USA
   - Josyula R. Rao, IBM Research, USA
   - Ahmad-Reza Sadeghi, Ruhr-Universitat Bochum, Germany
   - Akashi Satoh, AIST, Japan
   - Erkay Savas, Sabanci University, Turkey
   - Patrick Schaumont, Virginia Tech, USA
   - Jean-Pierre Seifert, Samsung R&D, USA
   - Berk Sunar, Worcester Polytechnic Institute, USA
   - Masahiko Takenaka, Fujitsu Laboratories Ltd, Japan
   - Kris Tiri, Intel, USA
   - Elena Trichina, Spansion, France
   - Ingrid Verbauwhede, Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, Belgium
   - Colin Walter, Comodo CA, UK
   - Johannes Wolkerstorfer, TU Graz, Austria


All correspondence and/or questions should be directed to one of the
Organizational Committee members:

Elisabeth Oswald (Program co-Chair)         Pankaj Rohatgi (Program co-Chair)
University of Bristol                       IBM T.J. Watson Research Center
Email: Elisabeth.Oswald@bristol.ac.uk       Email: rohatgi@us.ibm.com

Kris Gaj  (General co-Chair)                Jens-Peter Kaps (General co-Chair)
George Mason University                     George Mason University
Email: kgaj@gmu.edu                         Email: jkaps@gmu.edu

Cetin Kaya Koc (Publicity Chair)
Oregon State University
Email: koc@eecs.oregonstate.edu


The proceedings will be published in the Springer Lecture Notes in
Computer Science (LNCS) series in time for distribution at the
Workshop. Accepted papers should be formatted according to the LNCS
default author instructions at the URL
http://www.springer.de/comp/lncs/authors.html (see file typeinst.pdf).
Note that in order to be included in the proceedings, the authors of
an accepted paper must guarantee to present their contribution at the