14th May, 2007

                        2nd Conference on
         * Advances in Computer Security and Forensics *

                         *Call for Papers*

                        To be held at the
          School of Computing and Mathematical Sciences
         Liverpool John Moores University, Liverpool, UK


                         12-13 July, 2007

                         Keynote Speaker:
        Merseyside Police Chief Constable Bernard Hogan-Howe


The 2nd conference on Advances in Computer Security and Forensics
(ACSF) will take place at Liverpool John Moores University in July
2007. The conference will draw a wide-range of participants from the
national and international research community as well as current
practitioners within the fields of computer security and computer

Computer security and computer forensics are at the forefront in the
fight against malicious activity facilitated by our increased use of
computer and network technologies. Computer security preserves system
integrity whilst computer forensics aims to explain the cause for an
event or set of events. Computer security is an established field of
computer science, whilst computer forensics is receiving an increased
amount of attention amongst the research community. Due to the degree
of overlap in the raw material used by both fields, they have much to
learn from one another. The purpose of this conference is to bring
together researchers and practitioners to present and share the latest
developments in research and applications from both fields.

This conference brings together academics, IT managers, system
administrators, security specialists, forensic practitioners, and
anyone interested in

 * the most advanced research in computer security and computer
 * the latest developments in computer security and computer forensics
 * sharing views and experiences between academia and practitioners.

The conference will be organised into a number of tracks led by both
academics and practitioners, and will include refereed paper
presentations, panel discussions and invited talks based on the
submissions received and the interests expressed. The topics below are
for guidance only and not as an exhaustive list:

 * Incident Response and Management
 * Legal issues in computer forensics
 * Mobile device forensics
 * Collecting evidence
 * Network forensics
 * Practitioner case studies
 * Storage media and file forensic techniques
 * Intrusion Detection Systems
 * Wireless and ad hoc network security
 * Mobile agents for secure systems
 * Web security
 * Distributed Denial-of-Service attack countermeasures
 * Network Security
 * Viruses and hostile code
 * Cryptography
 * Privacy and anonymity
 * Digital Rights Management (DRM) and intellectual property
 * Access control, auditing and accountability

Paper Submission

Authors are hereby invited to submit original papers in Word format.
All papers must be in English and the length should not exceed 8 pages
typeset in IEEE format. All paper submissions will be handled
electronically. Authors should e-mail a version of their paper to Dr
John Haggerty.

Papers will be evaluated based on their quality and relevance. Each
paper will be reviewed by independent reviewers, whose reviews will be
relayed to the corresponding author. All submissions are held in
confidentiality prior to publication in the proceedings.

Panel proposals should provide the scope of the panel and panel
members. Panel proposals will be evaluated by the program committee.

Accepted papers will be presented by their authors and will be
published in the conference proceedings.

Important Dates

Paper and panel submission: 30 April, 2007
****** EXTENDED TO 14 May, 2007 ******
Notification of acceptance: 28 May, 2007
Final version of the paper due: 15 June, 2007

Conference Chairs

Dr John Haggerty, Liverpool John Moores University.
Prof Madjid Merabti, Liverpool John Moores University.

Provisional TPC

Bob Askwith, Liverpool John Moores University
Pete Daniel, Selex
Steve Furnell, University of Plymouth
Martin Karresand, Swedish Defence Research Agency
Henrik Kiertzner, Arup Consulting
Anastasia Konstadopoulou, University of Bradford
Angus Marshall, University of Teesside
John Mellor, University of Bradford
Nimal Nissanke, London South Bank University
Ross Patel, AFENTIS
Qi Shi, Liverpool John Moores University
Mike Siddall, CESG
Iain Sutherland, University of Glamorgan
Brian Tompsett, University of Hull
Ning Zhang, University of Manchester

Web site