ACM Workshop on Wireless Security (WiSe 2005)
(in conjunction with ACM MobiCom 2005)

Location: Cologne, Germany



The workshop on Wireless Security will be held in conjunction with ACM
MobiCom 2005. The objective of this workshop is to bring together
researchers from research communities in wireless networking, security,
applied cryptography, and dependability; with the goal of fostering
interaction. With the proliferation of wireless networks, issues related
to secure and dependable operation of such networks are gaining
importance. Topics of interest include, but are not limited to:

- Key management in wireless/mobile environments
- Trust establishment
- Computationally efficient primitives
- Intrusion detection, detection of malicious behavior
- Revocation of malicious parties
- Secure PHY/MAC/routing protocols
- Secure location determination
- Denial of service
- User privacy, location privacy
- Anonymity, prevention of traffic analysis
- Dependable wireless networking
- Identity theft and phishing in mobile networks
- Charging in wireless networks
- Cooperation in wireless networks
- Vulnerability modeling
- Incentive-aware secure protocol design
- Jamming
- Monitoring and surveillance

Paper submission instructions:
Submission of papers based on work-in-progress is encouraged. Submitted
papers must not be previously published elsewhere or currently under
review for any other publication. Please direct any questions about the
paper submission process to the Program Co-Chairs.

All paper submissions will be handled electronically. Authors should
prepare a PostScript or Portable Document Format (PDF) version of their

Papers must meet the following restrictions: No longer than 10 pages
(single or double column); in font no smaller than 10 points; must fit
properly on US Letter-sized paper (8.5 inch x 11 inch) with reasonable
margins. Instructions for electronic submission will be posted soon.

ACM will be publishing all accepted papers, in both the proceedings and
the ACM Digital Library.

We gratefully acknowledge funding from the Center of Applied Cybersecurity
Research to sponsor two awards of $500 each: one for best paper and one
for best student paper.

Important dates
Paper submission deadline: June 10, 2005
Notification of acceptance: July 10, 2005
Camera-ready papers due: July 15, 2005
Workshop date: Aug 28 - Sept 2, 2005 (in conjunction with Mobicom 2005)

Workshop Co-Chairs:
Markus Jakobsson, Indiana University at Bloomington (markus@indiana.edu)
Radha Poovendran, University of Washington (radha@ee.washington.edu)

Program committee:
Yair Amir, Johns Hopkins University
Farooq Anjum, Stevens Institute of Technology
Srdjan Capkun, Swiss Federal Institute of Technology (EPFL)
Yih-Chun, UC Berkeley
Brian DeCleene, Alphatech
Wenliang (Kevin) Du, Syracuse University
Rick Han, University of Colorado
Jean-Pierre Hubaux, Swiss Federal Institute of Technology (EPFL)
Jiejun Kong, UCLA
Wenke Lee, Georgia Institute of Technology
Mingyan Li, University of Washington
Catherine Meadows, Naval Research Laboratory
Peng Ning, North Carolina State University
Kaisa Nyberg, Nokia Research Center
Adrian Perrig, Carnegie Mellon University
Cliff Wang, Army Research Office
XiaoFeng Wang, Indiana University at Bloomington
Susanne Wetzel, Stevens Institute of Technology
Haitao Zheng, Microsoft Research
Ben Zhao, UCSB

Publicity Co-Chairs:
Rick Han, University of Colarado
Guevara Noubir, Northeastern University
Ulrike Meyer, Darmstadt University of Technology

Publication Chair:
Saad Biaz, Auburn University

Yongguang Zhang, HRL Labs and University of Texas-Austin

WiSe Steering Committee:
Adrian Perrig, Carnegie Mellon University
Douglas Maughan, DHS / HSARPA
Nitin Vaidya, University of Illinois