May 9-12, 2004
			 The Claremont Resort
		  Berkeley/Oakland, California, USA
	  2004 IEEE Symposium on Security and Privacy
			     sponsored by
  IEEE Computer Society Technical Committee on Security and Privacy
			 in cooperation with
    The International Association for Cryptologic Research (IACR)

			 Symposium Committee:
		  General Chair: Lee Badger (DARPA)
	  Vice Chair: Steve Tate (University of North Texas)
Program Co-Chairs: David A. Wagner (University of California at Berkeley, USA)
	Michael Waidner (IBM Zurich Research Lab, Switzerland)

Since 1980, the IEEE Symposium on Security and Privacy has been the
premier forum for presenting developments in computer security and
electronic privacy, and for bringing together researchers and
practitioners in the field.

Previously unpublished papers offering novel research contributions in
any aspect of computer security or electronic privacy are solicited
for submission to the 2004 symposium. Papers may represent advances in
the theory, design, implementation, analysis, or empirical evaluation
of secure systems, either for general use or for specific application
domains. Topics of interest include, but are not limited to, the

    Commercial and Industrial Security
    Mobile Code and Agent Security
    Network Security
    Data Integrity
    Information Flow
    Viruses and Other Malicious Code
    Secure Hardware and Smartcards
    Intrusion Detection
    Language-Based Security
    Security of Mobile Ad-Hoc Networks
    Electronic Privacy
    Distributed Systems Security
    Anonymity and Pseudonymity
    Access Control and Audit
    Security Verification
    Security Protocols
    Peer-to-Peer Security
    Database Security
    Denial of Service

Program Committee:

    Tuomas Aura, Microsoft Research, UK
    David Basin, ETH Zversity of Maryland, USA
    Josh Benaloh, Microsoft Research, USA
    Marc Dacier, Eurecom, France
    Herve' Debar, France Tlcom R&D, France
    Cedric Fournet, Microsoft Research, UK
    Virgil Gligor, University of Maryland, USA
    Trent Jaeger, IBM Research, USA
    Richard Kemmerer, University of California, Santa Barbara, USA
    Markus Kuhn, University of Cambridge, UK
    Heiko Mantel, DFKI, Germany
    John McHugh, CERT, USA
    John McLean, Naval Research Laboratory, USA
    Catherine Meadows, Naval Research Laboratory, USA
    John Mitchell, Stanford University, USA
    Andrew Myers, Cornell University, USA
    Vern Paxson, ICSI and LBNL, USA
    Birgit Pfitzmann, IBM Research, Switzerland
    Bart Preneel, Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, Belgium
    Michael Reiter, Carnegie Mellon University, USA
    Avi Rubin, Johns Hopkins University, USA
    Pierangela Samarati, Universita' degli Studi di Milano, Italy
    Christoph Schuba, Sun Microsystems, USA
    Jonathan Shapiro, Johns Hopkins University, USA
    Michael Steiner, IBM Research, USA
    Paul Syverson, Naval Research Laboratory, USA
    Jonathan Trostle, Security Research Consultant, USA
    Gene Tsudik, University of California, Irvine, USA
    David Wagner, University of California, Berkeley, USA
    Michael Waidner, IBM Research, Switzerland
    Dan S. Wallach, Rice University, USA
    Andreas Wespi, IBM Research, Switzerland
    Avishai Wool, Tel Aviv University, Israel


Submitted papers must not substantially overlap papers that have been
published or that are simultaneously submitted to a journal or a
conference with proceedings. If there are any doubts on whether a
paper counts as already published or not then the authors should
contact the program chairs prior to submission. Papers should be in
Portable Document Format (.pdf), at most 15 pages excluding the
bibliography and well-marked appendices (using 11-point font, single
column format, and reasonable margins on 8.5"x11" or A4 paper), and at
most 25 pages total. We request the submissions be in US letter paper
size (not A4) if at all possible. Authors are urged to follow the NSF
"Fastlane" guidelines for document preparation
(, and to pay special
attention to unusual fonts.  Committee members are not required to
read the appendices, so the paper should be intelligible without
them. Papers should be submitted in a form suitable for anonymous
review: remove author names and affiliations from the title page, and
avoid explicit self-referencing in the text. Formatting and length
requirements for the proceedings will be announced after acceptance

Please submit papers via the Web; the submission address will be
published 4 weeks before the deadline. All deadlines are in CET
(Central European Time), which is GMT+1, i.e., in Zurich local time.

For any questions, please contact the program chairs, at

Paper submissions due: November 5, 2003, 18:00:00 CET (GMT+1)
Acceptance notification: January 21, 2004
Final papers due: February 23, 2004

Submissions received after the submission deadline or failing to
conform to the guidelines above risk rejection without consideration
of their merits. Authors are responsible for obtaining appropriate
clearances; authors of accepted papers will be asked to sign IEEE
copyright release forms. Where possible all further communications to
authors will be via email.


The conference may include panel sessions addressing topics of
interest to the computer security community. Proposals for panels
should be no longer than five pages in length and should include
possible panelists and an indication of which of those panelists have
confirmed participation. Please submit panel proposals by email to

Panel proposals due: November 5, 2003, 18:00:00 CET (GMT+1)
Acceptance notification: January 27, 2004

Where possible all further communications to authors will be via email.


A continuing feature of the symposium will be a session of 5-minute
talks, where attendees can present preliminary research results or
summaries of works published elsewhere. Poster presentations related
to these talks are also possible. Abstracts for 5-minute talks should
fit on one 8.5"x11" or A4 page, including the title and all author
names and affiliations. Please submit abstracts by email to

5-minute abstracts due: March 15, 2004, 18:00:00 CET (GMT+1)
Acceptance notification: March 31, 2004

Where possible all further communications to authors will be via email.