CRYPTO 2004:  Call for Papers

Original research papers on all technical aspects of cryptology are
solicited for submission to Crypto 2004, the Twenty-Fourth Annual IACR
Crypto Conference. Crypto 2004 is sponsored by the International
Association for Cryptologic Research (IACR), in cooperation with the
IEEE Computer Society Technical Committee on Security and Privacy, and
the Computer Science Department of the University of California, Santa
Barbara. Important dates are:

Submission deadline

February 10, 2003, 18:00 PST

Notification of decision

April 30, 2003

Proceedings version deadline

May 26, 2003, 18:00 PST


August 15 - 19, 2003
Instructions for Authors

Submissions must not substantially duplicate work that any of the
authors has published elsewhere or has submitted in parallel to any
other conference or workshop that has proceedings. Accepted
submissions may not appear in any other conference or workshop that
has proceedings.

Submission Format: The submission must be anonymous, with no author
names, affiliations, acknowledgments, or obvious references. It should
begin with a title, a short abstract, and a list of keywords. The
length of the submission should be at most 12 pages excluding
bibliography and appendices. It should use at least 11-point fonts and
have reasonable sized margins. The introduction should summarize the
contributions of the paper at a level appropriate for a non-specialist
reader. Committee members are not required to read appendices; the
paper should be intelligible without them. Submissions not meeting
these guidelines risk rejection without consideration of their merits.

Electronic Submission: Electronic submission is strongly encouraged. A
detailed description of the electronic submission procedure is is

Hardcopy Submission: Authors unable to submit electronically may, as a
strongly discouraged last resort, send a cover letter and 24
double-sided hardcopies of their submission to the program chair at
the postal address below. Authors intending to submit via hardcopy
should contact the program chair on or before February 3,
2003. Submissions must be received by the program chair on or before
February 10, 2003, 18:00 PST. Late submissions, regardless of
postmark, and submissions by fax will not be considered. Hardcopy
submission must include a cover letter containing the paper's title
and the names and affiliations of the authors, and should identify the
contact author including e-mail and postal addresses.

Decisions and Presentation: Notification of acceptance or rejection
will be sent to authors by April 30, 2003. Authors of accepted papers
must guarantee that their paper will be presented at the conference.

Conference Proceedings: Proceedings will be published in
Springer-Verlag's Lecture Notes in Computer Science and will be
available at the conference. Clear instructions about the preparation
of a final proceedings version will be sent to the authors of accepted
papers. The final copies of the accepted papers will be due on May 26,

Program Committee

Bill Aiello, AT&T Labs
Jee Hea An, SoftMax
Eli Biham, Technion
John Black, University of Colorado at Boulder
Anne Canteaut, INRIA
Ronald Cramer, University of Aarhus
Yevgeniy Dodis, New York University
Matt Franklin, U. C. Davis (program chair)
Yuval Ishai, Technion
Lars Knudsen, Technical University of Denmark
Hugo Krawczyk, Technion/IBM
Pil Joong Lee, Pohang Univ. of Sci. & Tech.
Phil MacKenzie, Bell Labs
Tal Malkin, Columbia University
Willi Meier, Fachhochschule Aargau
Daniele Miccianco, U. C. San Diego
Tatsuaki Okamoto, NTT
Rafail Ostrovsky, U. C. L. A.
Torben Pedersen, Cryptomathic
Bart Preneel, Katholieke Universiteit Leuven
Alice Silverberg, Ohio State University
Nigel Smart, Bristol University
Serge Vaudenay, EPFL
David Wagner, U. C. Berkeley
Stefan Wolf, University of Montreal

Advisory Members:

Dan Boneh, program chair Crypto 2003
Victor Shoup, program chair Crypto 2005
Contact Information for the Program Chair

Matt Franklin
phone: +1-530-752-2017
fax: +1-530-752-4767
One Shields Avenue
Davis, CA, 95616 USA
Other Information

For other information contact
General Chair:
Jim Hughes
phone: +1-763-424-1676
Fax: +1-612-677-3007
7600 Boone Ave No
Mineapolis, MN, 55428 USA

Stipends: A limited number of stipends are available to those unable
to obtain funding to attend the conference. Students whose papers are
accepted and who will present the paper themselves are encouraged to
apply if such assistance is needed. Requests for stipends should be
addressed to the General Chair.